ad: elecraft

Acceptable DX Operation

Discussion in 'On-Air Operations - Q&A' started by W4AVZ, Aug 1, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: K5AB-Elect-1
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
  1. W4AVZ

W4AVZ Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I am new to the HF bands, and having fun.
    But I have a question about accepted practices during a DX Pileup.

I was listening to a call from Costa Rica yesterday evening.
    He didn't announce that he was contesting, but he was working the calls as fast as he could.
    I admired his ability to work as fast as he did.

He was near the noise for me, but occasionally up to s9, so I thought I would try.
    I just couldn't break thru. As I listened, more and more East Coast and Mid West stations started calling.
    (as time went on, I could hear the callers moving further west ward)

I was hearing Strong Calling Signals coming in at my location.
    Everyone was very anxious to qso, just like me.
    After a while I realized that I just wasn't able to break the pileup,
    and propagation was moving west, so I gave up my calling.

But I wondered;

Is it ever appropriate or acceptable to try to pick off someone who is trying to make the contact ?
    Meaning, should I ever try to make a call to one of the calling stations, and ask for a quick QSY up or down, for a short QSO, just for me to log ?

I realize I would be adding to the unwanted noise on that DX frequency.
    And, I would be taking the caller away from a potential break thru for him or herself.
    I guess it would appear selfish of me.

Is there an accepted or appropriate method for this ?
    Or would I just be a _______ ____ _______ ?

Thanks.

Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  2. K1VSK

K1VSK Ham Member QRZ Page

It's essentially the same as you interrupting, in person, an attempt by one person to 'talk' to someone else.