80m EFHW Sloper Possible?

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KE8SZX, Nov 25, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-Geochron
ad: HRDLLC-2
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: abrind-2
  1. KE8SZX

KE8SZX Ham Member QRZ Page

Like every antenna installation, I have a unique situation. I'm new to amateur radio so I'm looking for opinions on what I'm considering is even possible.

Goals / Requirements:
    1. Access to the 80 & 40 m band - I don't intend to hit the world but was just hoping for good activity
    2. Currently 100 Watts of Power but the ability to add more power at a later date
    3. Must be able to set up and take down in a reasonable amount of time (30 minutes)
    4. Must be sturdy enough to remain up for 3-4 days under normal weather conditions
    a. Normal weather conditions meaning a range from 70F & Sunny to Hard Rain and 17-20 mph Winds

What I'm considering (see the picture)
    An 80 m EFHW is attached at the top of a ~40' guyed mast with the coax connector at the lower end.
    The lower end would be suspended in the air ~12' and being fed by RG-8X which runs into the house.
    The box with the coax connector would be attached by a rope that would run through a pulley attached to the side of my house.

Questions and Concerns:
    1. Will this even work.
    2. I can't find much information about people using 40' masts and how reliable it will be. One of the masts I'm considering is quite expensive and I'd hate to find out it just won't work. Remember, I only plan on guying it from 4 sides at relatively low height and I intend to leave it overnight but take it down if any severe weather is predicted and put it up and take it down many times throughout the year.

Equipment I'm considering:
    Masts:
    MFJ-1917 - MFJ Lightweight Telescoping Fiberglass Masts
    MFJ-1906HD Heavy Duty 38ft Telescoping Fiberglass Mast with Quick Clamps (Sturdier but most expensive)
    Antennas: