6m season

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by KE8KMX, Mar 9, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: abrind-2
  1. KE8KMX

KE8KMX XML Subscriber QRZ Page

This past summer was the first time I started playing with 6m. Had a bunch of fun chasing DXCC's and grid squares via FT8, 30 and around 270.

If I remember correctly things started to get going around last April. Is that normal? My plan for this summer is to put up a 5 element yagi. Just wondering if I should go ahead and order one now since spring is around the corner. Cushcraft makes one in my price range.

Gino

2. KI8DJ

KI8DJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Go ahead and buy it 6 m can open any time. With the yagi you should be able to reach out a long way even without enhanced propagation. There also may be some ssb nets out there too.

K0UO and WA9SVD like this.
  3. WA9SVD

WA9SVD Ham Member QRZ Page

6 Meters is called the "Magic Band" for a reason. Sporadic E (Es) can occur any time, but is most common from about late April to at least September, with a minor peak in activity around January. (At least, here in the Northern Hemisphere.) It's the challenge of "weak signal" work that makes the band so intriguing. While 6 Meters is NOT a daily DX band, when there IS an opening (such as Es) the band can get as crowded as 20 Meters in a contest! If there is a decent sunspot number associated with the upcoming Cycle 25, there is even the possibility (probability?) of F2 Layer propagation, with DX extending far beyond single, or even double hop Es propagation. I don't think you will regret working 6 Meters, and putting up a decent antenna, 6 Meters CAN be quite addictive! Good luck, and most of all, have FUN!

ADDED: I'd also like to hear how the Es season(s) occur in the SOUTHERN Hemisphere! How is the propagation in, say So. America, Australia, South Pacific, etc?

K0UO and AD7DB like this.
  4. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page