6m Propagation Question

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by K0LWC, May 5, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. K0LWC

K0LWC Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

I’m relatively new to 6m and I’m wondering what the patterns are for openings? I understand the e-skip season, but more specifically when do openings occur? Is it a sunrise/sunset kind of band, or do openings occur randomly at any time (morning, midday, evening)

Ive been using DXMaps to keep an eye on conditions. Can any elmers share their expertise on this?

2. WA3GWK

WA3GWK XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I'm not an expert on sporadic E but I have enough experience on 6 meters too begin to see some patterns. Sporadic E can happen at any time, I find at my QTH on the AL gulf coast openings occur mostly in the morning with a drop off around noon local and then pick up early evening. At the peak of the season, the band can remain open most of the 24 hours. I have caught a few openings thus far leading up to the summer season and expect them to become more frequent and intense.

As the density of the E cloud increases to the point where it just supports 6 meter propagation, skip distances tend to be long, 1200-1500 mi. As the density increases, frequencies above 6 meters are useful (2 Meters) and the skip distance on 6 meters shortens. There may be several clouds at once supporting propagation in several directions and multi-hop distances beyond 1500 mi.

Watch for E skip on 10 meters to anticipate openings on 6. Use other aids such as postings on DX Maps to see what others are hearing and working. Hope this helps. Hopefully others will be along to add to what I have observed.

3. AA7QQ

AA7QQ Ham Member QRZ Page

I don't bother with DXMaps, anymore There are many openings that never appear there. I point the antenna North, call CQ (1.3KW), rotate 15-20*, call again. I rarely do not make contact.
    \
    Ed

4. K9STH