ad: ProAudio-1

6m mobile omni options

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by K3RW, Jun 19, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: FBNews-1
ad: Subscribe
  1. K3RW

K3RW Ham Member QRZ Page

Please don't ding me for posting an antenna question in the VHF forum. I never get any answers on VHF+ antennas there.

I worked as a rover this latest VHF contest. I was stuck through numerous issues having to work 6m on my 2m 5/8s whip. It worked but only on 6m FM and FT8. SWR was sky-high on the SSB portion.

A PAR OA-50 would have been far better, given omni pattern and horizontal polarity.

A 6m 'big wheel' would be even better, but I only know of WiMo out of Europe that sells it. And almost 11ft in diameter, probably not /mobile legal on the road without flags (?). If thete is a North America seller, I don't know of one.

But its partly because the OA-50 is a single dipole and the Big Wheel is 3 dipoles folded and phased. Its way bigger.

Is there a 2 dipole design that is still omni and horizontal? For 6m, or any VHF+ band, that could be used /mobile?

The PAR omni angles from 2m on up are just fine if I have the vertical space for stacking. Even 432 'big wheels' and other bands from places like The Olde Antenna Lab would work, stacked, phased, etc.

Anything I can do for 6m? I don't know if a 6m two-dipole antenna (maybe a figure-8, Saturn ring type, back to back triangle, something else?) is out there. Mostly it would be great to have a bit of gain on 6m over the OA-50 while mobile. Its really not feasible to use the PAR stressed Moxon while mobile. Maybe there isn't something, but if there is a bent 2 dipole 6m omni (not crossed dipoles) it may actually be what I am looking for.

2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page