444.300 Thursday Morning Net Heard From Texas

Discussion in 'VHF/UHF - 50Mhz and Beyond' started by KG5IFY, Feb 4, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: l-BCInc
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-Geochron
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KG5IFY

KG5IFY XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hello,

I went to the truck during lunch to see if I could catch anyone on the radio, still a big time novice here. I heard a net on the Saltgrass 444.300 repeater, and I wanted to know if anyone could tell me which net that was? I wanted to check-in to my first net, but there was a lot of activity and I had to get back into the office so I wasn't able to.

Thanks

K5JGL

2. K5URU

K5URU XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I thoroughly enjoy the Saltgrass Link System, but I'm usually not on during the afternoon. I sent an email to try to find out which net you heard and will report back with the response. Maybe I'll catch you on there some day.

I'm not too far away from you (I'm in Buda), so perhaps we could try some 2M simplex. Just let me know.

Talk to you soon,
    Blake

3. K5URU

What you heard was the Alaska Morning Net. They meet 6 days a week (off Sundays) at noon CST. Keep in mind that Alaska time is one hour earlier than Pacific time. I've enjoyed listening to and participating in that net many times. It's a nice, laid-back, conversational net with participants from all over the US and Canada (and occasionally other countries). Feel free to check in any time; they are very friendly and welcoming to new operators. If you're short on time (as you were while on your lunch break), feel free to check in as "K5JGL, in and out", just to let them know you were listening for a while. When you have more time, you can do a regular check-in and have a quick conversation. Great group of guys and gals.

Blake K5URU

P.S. Thanks to Steve N5ZUA, who does a lot of work for Texas amateur radio operators with WinSystem and SaltGrass, among the many other things he does with little recognition. Good work, sir.

4. KG5IFY