2m SSB, which radios?

Discussion in 'Satellite and Space Communications' started by KD0KZE, Sep 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: l-BCInc
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-Geochron
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KD0KZE

KD0KZE Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm quite new to satellites, and unfortunately see a lot of good passes of AO-27 and SO-50 while I'm cloistered at work. Just need to be more patient. I note that some of the other satellites that pass overhead (http://www.amsat.org/amsat-new/satellites/status.php) use modes that I'm currently not able to work, for example 2m/70cm SSB for beacons, etc.

What are some affordable, portable and versatile radios well-suited for a variety satellite communications?

2. W5PFG

W5PFG Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Right off the bat, there are very few full-duplex 2m/70cm SSB radios available NEW. The Kenwood TS-2000 and Icom IC-9100 are the only two that come to mind.

Used market there is a wide range of full-duplex 2m/70cm SSB radios at an even wider range of prices. Yaesu FT-847, Icom IC-820h, Icom IC-821, Icom IC-910h, Yaesu FT-736R, Yaesu FT-726. Sometimes these radios are outrageously priced and sometimes you'll find them in a reasonable range for their age.

A lot of people use two radios for SSB full-duplex. It works great. I have an Icom IC-910 for home/portable, but most of the time on the road/car I use a Yaesu FT-817 for receive (downlink) and an older Yaesu FT-100 for transmit (uplink.) You can find a wide range of 2m/70cm single-band radios on the used market. A popular combination is to use two Yaesu FT-817's or an FT-817D and an FT-857D. You can really dig around and find some old single-band radios such as Yaesu FT-290/790R's cheap.

3. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I still use my 25 year-old Yaesu FT-736R for this. It is full duplex for sat work, and the TX can track the RX automatically like a good sat rig should do.