2m/70cm antenna with lots of trees.

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KG5BSR, Mar 26, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: FBNews-1
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. KG5BSR

KG5BSR Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm new to amateur radio and I want to get a rig set up at my house. I've bought the Kenwood TM-V71 and a power supply. My next move was to buy a dual band antenna with coax. As I was looking around my house to see where would be the best place to set it up. It dawned on me that I'm completely surrounded by very large pecan trees. Should I go above the tree line? If I do. Would I be getting anywhere with the coax loss?

2. AI3V

AI3V Ham Member QRZ Page

Would you rather have a sturdy steel bucket filled with dollar bills, or a flimsy plastic bag from wallmart filled with hundreds? :)

Height is king at vhf/uhf. You gain more range with height than you loose with longer coax.

For casual use, pick a coax with less than, say, 3 db loss for the length you will need.

Rege

Edit: for ordinary uhf/vhf fm radio, sometimes called "strong signal" work, the classic prediction of radio range is 4/3 the distance of the optical (line of sight) horizon.

Here are many websites that will allow you to calculate the distance to the optical horizon compaired to your antenna height. Add 33% to get your reasonably expected radio distanc.

Keep in mind that the other stations height adds directly to the distance, you can usually expect to talk to a station with the same antenna height as yours at double your 4/3 distance.

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=horizon+calculator&t=fpas&ia=web

Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
    AJ5J and KG5BSR like this.
  3. WA7F

WA7F Premium Subscriber QRZ Page