23cm band 100-300w amp with 2w drive

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Amplifiers' started by VE7KFX, Sep 26, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-3
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
  1. VE7KFX

VE7KFX Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello ,

I am trying to build an EME station and I am looking for an amplifier for my sg labs transverter. Does anyone know where I could find one possibly second hand? I'd rather keep my costs down on this as I am getting married next year and my fiancee has me on a strict radio budget :p even if someone could point me in the right direction. I have searched Google and all I found were kits. I am all thumbs when it comes to building. Thank you in advance

Cory VE7KFX

2. VE3CGA

VE3CGA XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Hi Cory, I'm new to EME myself and am guessing you're looking for an amp for 1296. What kind of wattage are you looking for?
    You might try contacting some of the commercial Radio shops out there, they might have some used surplus equipment that might have been replaced with newer stuff. Being in a mountain rich environment they probably used something like that for relaying site to site.

3. KA9JLM

KA9JLM Ham Member QRZ Page

I would forget it if that is the case. It will be hard for you to stop. :p

One problem with a amp that has a lot of gain, The output may start getting back into the input.

Use very good shielded coax, If your wife will let you buy it. :rolleyes:

Good Luck.

4. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

I sold my last 23cm homebrew amplifier a few years ago, but it would sorta do what you're looking for and wasn't all that difficult to build.