20 meter ham radio for Jeep JK

Discussion in 'On the Road' started by KD0SVJ, Mar 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
ad: Left-2
ad: Subscribe
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
  1. KD0SVJ

KD0SVJ Ham Member QRZ Page

Greetings! I'm new to qrz and recently received my general class license. I drive a Jeep Wrangler JK and I'm hoping to get some advice about a mobile tranceiver for 20 meters. I should take a step back and let everyone know that I'm learning as I go, so I'm not even sure 20 meters in a mobile environment is possible. Or if reception would be all that great.

I was hoping to buy one of these antennas and mount it on the Jeep:
    - http://www.radioinc.com/oscmax/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=22_30&products_id=3271

But my big question is is: what mobile transceiver I should buy? I'd like one with a detachable face if possible because the Jeep doesn't have a lot of space well... anywhere. Right now I talk on 2 meters and I have a radio that sits under the passenger seat. The detachable face sits on the dash.

My own research led me to these two radios (which don't have the detachable face, but it's what I've found so far):
    - http://www.amazon.com/Yaesu-FT-817N...=UTF8&qid=1394092505&sr=8-1&keywords=FT-817ND
    - http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/hamhf/1817.html

Both are a little out of my price range. If possible, I'd like to stick around the $300 range. But if those are the recommended ones, then I'll just keep saving up.

Thanks for any advice anyone has!

2. KG5RZ

KG5RZ Ham Member QRZ Page

3. KD0SVJ

Thanks N5SY! That radio looks pretty nice. It sounds like people like it a lot too. I may have to consider that for home use. As for the Jeep though, I think you're right, $300 just isn't enough. I ran across this last night:

- http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/hf/7100/default.aspx