2 meter antenna

Discussion in 'Antennas, Feedlines, Towers & Rotors' started by KM4ZLO, Oct 30, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Subscribe
ad: Left-2
ad: MessiPaoloni-1
  1. KM4ZLO

KM4ZLO Ham Member QRZ Page

i am still new to all of this so hope this question does not sound stupid, but if i have a 2 meter antenna can i transmit on 70cm using that same antenna.

KX4O likes this.
  2. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Depends on exactly what antenna it is.

What is the antenna, specifically?

3. AG6QR

AG6QR Subscriber QRZ Page

Since the 440 band is 3 times the frequency of the 2m band, they are harmonically related and a basic antenna resonant on 2m will usually be resonant, or nearly so, on 440. This applies to simple antennas like dipoles, ground planes, J-poles and similar. It does not necesarily apply to antennas with loading coils or similar devices to change the frequency response.

But resonance doesn't mean it'll be effective. A simple half-wave vertical radiator at 2m becomes a 3/2 wave radiator at 440. A 3/2 wave vertical radiator sends most of its energy into lobes angled up at 45 degrees and down at 45 degrees. This probably isn't where you want to send your signal. It will work reasonably well for a short, clear path, though. And it won't harm your transmitter.

You'll get a much more effective antenna at 440 with something that is designed to radiate toward the horizon. Many dual band antennas have a small coil designed to act as a trap to make the antenna appear shorter on 440.

KX4O and NH7RO like this.
  4. WB2WIK

WB2WIK Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

It's imperative to know exactly what the antenna is.

5. KM4ZLO

KM4ZLO Ham Member QRZ Page

I HAVE TWO DIFFERENT ANTENNAS THAT HAVE BEEN GIVEN TO ME BY A FRIEND. THE FIRST ONE IS A HOMEBREW 2 METER GROUND PLANE. THE SECONDED IS A OPEK MODEL VH-1210 VHF MAGNETIC MOUNT COMMU ANTENNA WITH FREQ 136-174MHZ.

6. KA0GKT

KA0GKT Ham Member QRZ Page