ad: elecraft

Amateur Radio License Plates!

Discussion in 'General Announcements' started by WB4AEJ, Feb 6, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
  1. N2UHC

N2UHC Ham Member QRZ Page

I worked as a law enforcement and emergency dispatcher for 15 years, so I'm not ignorant of the threat, either. It's just that all the years of driving around with a ham tag I never once had a problem, not even having radios stolen out of my vehicle.

M1WML, KO4ESA and WB4AEJ like this.
  2. KK9W

KK9W Ham Member QRZ Page

No, but if you piss someone off in traffic they can call the state police and falsely claim you pointed a firearm at them using the free personal info you advertised. If you have a CCW permit own a firearm, etc their story has credit to it and it's their word against yours. That's a legal proceeding and expense I would rather avoid. After a similar experience I no longer put any form of special interest decals on any of our vehicles.

M1WML and KO4ESA like this.
  3. N2UHC

They can do that by calling in your tag number no matter what it is. The police have your name & address just by looking up your tag.

4. KK9W

KK9W Ham Member QRZ Page

You are missing a point somehow. My comment has has nothing to do about being identified. It's about giving the crazy public enough info about yourself via bumper stickers to craft a story credible enough to report to the police to get you locked up or at least create expensive legal issues for you.

5. N2UHC

Really, does this happen often?

6. AC5A

AC5A Ham Member QRZ Page

lol

Attached Files:

M1WML, WN1MB, KO4ESA and 4 others like this.
  7. WJ4U

WJ4U Subscriber QRZ Page

:p

8. W0IS

W0IS Ham Member QRZ Page

I have ham plates so potential thieves will know that I'm a ham, and therefore cheap and don't have anything worth stealing.

M1WML, KO4ESA, WB4AEJ and 4 others like this.
  9. KM1H

KM1H Ham Member QRZ Page