ad: Flexradio-1

Ham Radio - An end fed folded dipole experiment. Part 1, the idea and design.

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by KB7TBT, Jul 7, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. VE3VXO

VE3VXO Guest

2. AI3V

AI3V Ham Member QRZ Page

Because the terms "magnetic loop" and "end fed antenna" are unique to sammy hammys, and not used by real antenna engineers.

Rege

3. KX4O

KX4O XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Oh I don't know Rege... I'm a real antenna engineer and I use the similar term end-fed dipole. Oh I know it isn't quite at the end, but is certainly close enough for all practical purposes.

I don't use magnetic loop though. STL is more like it.

4. KB0R

KB0R Ham Member QRZ Page

W
    Will you accept "End Fed Zepp"?

5. AI3V

AI3V Ham Member QRZ Page

Whatever you say.

Rege

6. KG5KPU

KG5KPU XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Sure, we can add "end Fed Zepp" into the group of end-fed antennas that aren't a long or random wire. :) :) :)

7. K2XT

K2XT Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

So, I see there is a part two followup to the original video.
    And the experiment failed.
    You could knock me over with a feather.

K4AGO, WN1MB and W4AEE like this.
  8. WA3YRE

WA3YRE Ham Member QRZ Page

A zepplin antenna can ONLY be end fed. Have a look at a Zepplin sometime and recall they had to use HF for comms and think about how they got an effective antenna for that purpose.

9. WA3YRE

WA3YRE Ham Member QRZ Page

The sort of waste of time and energy in the video is what happens when so many so called technical folks do not read things and just "learn" from online videos. So many of the 20-30 something tech folks I work with are constantly re-inventing the wheel because they either can not or will not read existing tech manuals.

W4AEE, AF4RK, K2XT and 4 others like this.
  10. K8AI

K8AI Ham Member QRZ Page