ad: Halibut-1

Chameleon DIY Magnetic Loop Starter kit First Build

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by OH8STN, Feb 19, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. OH8STN

OH8STN Ham Member QRZ Page

Hello operators
    starter-kit.jpg For those interested in the DIY Magnetic Loop Starter Kit from Chameleon, this is my first build video using that kit. The video details two different models of a man portable magnetic loop antenna.
    • The first is a 40-10M single turn loop based on the Chameleon P-LOOP.
    • The second is a 80, 60, 40M, double turn loop with switched capacitor to quickly convert between 80, 60, 40M and 40-10M.
    You can watch the video here.

Amongst my build goals was a desire to build a practical field deployable magnetic loop antenna, which would fit easily into my skipulk or backpack. I certainly could have build a larger more efficient system, but only at the expense of mobility. The design is heavily based on aspects of the Chameleon P-LOOP and Alexloop man-portable loops.

I hope my video helps other beginners get started with their Chameleon Magnetic Loop starter kit, and would love to see builds from other operators who have also chosen to use this starter kit.

73 de oh8stn

KI5UXW, W5KV, AA8GK and 6 others like this.
  2. K5TED

K5TED Ham Member QRZ Page

You paid $99 plus shipping for a $20 capacitor, some UHF connectors and a piece of feedline.

AD5KO likes this.
  3. VA7UO

VA7UO Ham Member QRZ Page

Yeah that's it be condescending and rude.. What is wrong with you?
    Maybe he is getting into the radio side of things on HF..Myself, V/U and microwaves, it's comments like yours that throw people off.

W8IJN, N1PRH, AA8GK and 9 others like this.
  4. VA6ERO

VA6ERO Ham Member QRZ Page

nice guy shows how to assemble loop and grumpy old ham jumps on him.
    sure hate to have k5ted,s life.not too good i think??

N4GST, K0PIR and OH8STN like this.
  5. K7LZR