ad: wmr-1

Tour the Russian 'Woodpecker' (DUGA): Featured in CNN Travel News

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by W1YW, Mar 3, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
  1. W1YW

W1YW Ham Member QRZ Page

Frank,

Its an expression.

I think we all know what happens when electronics gets 'fried'. No one said anything about biological diathermy.

No one said anything about 'people getting fried'.

Missile elctronics? Yeh, maybe.

Also, you assume a 1KW delivery to the skin. Nope. A lot lower. I will let you figure out why.

Chip W1YW

2. WA3YRE

WA3YRE Ham Member QRZ Page

Chip I would love to learn why my cabin was not a faraday cage. I have been in the cage at ARRL HQ, and except for the porthole I noted not much difference. This is not a smarty reply. I really want the benefit of your knowledge on the subject. 60 years on this planet and I am still learning. That is why I love ham radio!

3. KR6GF

KR6GF Ham Member QRZ Page

The Soviets liked 'phase conjugation' in their laser applications, but I am not sure whether you are saying they used some synthetic aperture technique. The near field issue is not about far-field predictions, it is about avoiding air breakdown.

BTW, I love your page. But, your fractal antennas has initiated wave-chaos in my brain. I am going to have to give it some settling time.

Another, BTW. I guess Directed Energy is what we say it is. The Navy went so far as to include rail guns.

73, KR6GF

4. W1YW

W1YW Ham Member QRZ Page

Heheh! Yeh, fractals R us....

What I am saying is that they phased up the array, and then took the near-delta function pulse train, and delayed it as a function of frequency to use the ionosphere to enhance the delivered power at target. They used the radar reflection to figure out the dispersion, and used the ionosphere as a lens, for the (not working) attack mode.

They found its a crappy lens.