ad: elecraft

Ham Radio - Do antenna tuners help with shortwave listening?

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by KB7TBT, Dec 20, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KB7TBT

KB7TBT Ham Member QRZ Page

Ham Radio - Do antenna tuners help with shortwave listening?

VE2GCE, VE7JAI, KD9FEK and 12 others like this.
  2. WM6P

WM6P Ham Member QRZ Page

With the tuner in it increased signal strength. Did it not also raise the noise level? I am less concerned about signal strength, but striving to signal to noise ratio. Did that improve or stay the same?

N2OTG and (deleted member) like this.
  3. VA3RTG

VA3RTG Ham Member QRZ Page

I'm no expert, but I would think that both noise and signal would be changed equally. I'd think that a tuner would be helpful to increase the signal over the noise level in the receiver if needed, but again, I'm not an expert.

W4BUS likes this.
  4. W1YW

W1YW Ham Member QRZ Page

If the mismatch loss is roughly 20 dB or more (a very high SWR), the RX noise is often stronger than the input from the antenna, and in that case a better match is dictated. Otherwise, for SWR's less than, for example, 10:1 or less, there is no difference. VA3RTG is correct that it is the SINR that is key.

The SINR from the antenna remains the same and a tuner does not change, in any way, the power pattern of the antenna.

K3RW, KC7ZXY, KA4VNM and 1 other person like this.
  5. W9CQG

W9CQG Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

Happy Holidays to you too Kevin. From a Fort Wayne expat in Canada, VA3CQG

VA7LTX and N8WI like this.
  6. K1LKP

K1LKP Ham Member QRZ Page

7. KZ4TN

KZ4TN XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I always use an antenna turner when SWLing. While the background noise will increase with the signal level, I use the RF gain to cutback on the background noise and, depending on which radio I am listening on, use a DSP filter to improve the clarity of the audio.