ad: ProAudio-1

Flying with Ham Radio Gear.

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by KK6USY, Oct 14, 2021.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. W7DAO

W7DAO Ham Member QRZ Page

I have flown with my gear before. What I do is pack the passive items, balun, antenna, tripod, etc. in a separate piece of luggage to go in the cargo hold (knowing it will be opened and searched - tsa approved lock) and I take the transceiver and tuner in a pelican case as a carry on with full intent to open it for inspection. I have never had to pull out my license, the agents I have come across seem okay with I state this is ham radio equipment.

M1WML and N9LCD like this.
  2. NZ6N

NZ6N XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I work in the airline industry and travel internationally very frequently. I'm limited to specific bags I carry with me, though I am able to fit quite a bit in a LifeWit lunch bag and have never really had issues. There are several locations in Europe and the Middle East where the security screening is a bit more intense, but the worst I've had to do is take the electronics out of the bag and run it through the x-ray machine separately. I currently take a small MFJ 4125 power supply, an IC-706Mk2G, a small auto-tuner, a mini buddipole, the 10' buddipole mast, and CW paddles. I would use a wire dipole, but Kuwait specifically won't allow more than 2m of wire through security. The only issue I've had so far is the spring-loaded retaining clip breaking off of the faceplate of the 706, but that was purely my fault and I now pack that separately.

M1WML, KG4BFR and KD5BVX like this.
  3. W1RDT

W1RDT Ham Member QRZ Page

I remember reading that there is a size (amperage) limit on batteries taken on commercial flights, for explosion and fire potential reasons. Does anyone have accurate information on that?

M1WML likes this.
  4. KV6O

KV6O Ham Member QRZ Page

5. NJ1S

NJ1S Ham Member QRZ Page