ad: Schulman-1

#76 How I Solder in 2020

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by KM9G, Aug 1, 2020.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
  1. KM9G

KM9G Ham Member QRZ Page

Some joke about putting your shoes on before running away as the bear invades your camp... I'm completely self taught and even I can make this stuff work.

R2DYM, K4FMH, 2E0TWD and 4 others like this.
  2. K8JHR

K8JHR Ham Member QRZ Page

Seriously? Sheesh! This is definitely NOT front page ham radio NEWS, and should be relegated to a forum dedicated to novice education. Gee, almost as exciting as seeing big resistors in a dummy load. OF course this is just MY take - your mileage may vary - yet I grow weary of so many self-appointed narcissists extolling the obvious, presuming so many others are completely ignorant of the most basic matters. Maybe he can follow up with a video of how to connect the power supply, or possibly about how to hold the microphone.

I am NOT dissing the man, nor criticizing the video per se ... just suggesting a tutorial on how to solder is NOT front page NEWS, and should be relegated elsewhere. K8JHR

KD5RJZ, KG7HVR, KR3DX and 5 others like this.
  3. PA0MHS

PA0MHS Ham Member QRZ Page

Oh boy.... DO NOT BEND COMPONENT WIRES FLAT AGAINS THE PCB!!

You'll have a hard time getting the components out again when you need to repair something and it can create unwanted shorts to neighbouring pads. You are also using more solder than necessary this way, causing bulges of solder on a pad.The surface shape of a solder joint should always be concave, never convex.