ad: TinyPaddle-1

Contest is logging required

Discussion in 'Contests, DXpeditions, QSO Parties, Special Events' started by KF5NAJ, Mar 29, 2019.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
  1. KF5NAJ

KF5NAJ Ham Member QRZ Page

I am a casual operator but do not mind answering CQ's in contests, but not interested logging and submitting logs. I do not want to waste operators time, should I answer CQ's or not.
    I may work a few minutes or a hour or two

Thank you

2. KS2G

KS2G Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

By all means answer stations calling CQ in contests -- they're looking for as many contacts as they can get.

You don't have to submit a log for your contacts to be valid, so you're not wasting the other operator's time.

HOWEVER ... you must provide the required contest "exchange" information (that you can find in the rules of each contest), which in some contests includes a contact serial number. So for those contests you'll have to keep track of the "number" for each contact even if you don't keep a log with the date, time, band, the other station's exchange, etc.

ALSO ... if you're operating without submitting a log, DON'T MAKE JUST ONE CONTACT, because absent a log from your call sign, your call will be tagged as "unique" and may be interpreted as a call sign that was copied incorrectly, resulting in a penalty for the station you worked. Make at least two, three or four contacts to avoid that possibility.

Jump in and have fun. ;)

W7DCM, KG5THG and K1LKP like this.
  3. AI5DH

AI5DH Ham Member

Kind of funny. The whole point of stupid contest is Logging As Many Contacts you can make to earn your Warm Fuzzy Award patch. The more contacts, the Warmer the Fuzzy.

There is a joke buried in there if you can catch it ha ha. Say STD!

Last edited: Mar 29, 2019
  4. K1LKP

K1LKP Ham Member QRZ Page

YES, GEORGE
    MEL - KS2G GAVE
    YOU SOME GOOD ADVICE.

JUMP IN AND HAVE FUN
    THE WATER IS WARM.