ad: Flexradio-1

A NEW FT8 with QSO and Rag Chew capabilities called FT8CALL

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by NN2X, Aug 12, 2018.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
  1. KC8DE

KC8DE Ham Member QRZ Page

Ok, he's using an Raspberry Pi with a Samsung Tab as the interface. He compiled FT8Call for ARM Linux? Running it directly on the Tab Active would be far more efficient.

2. KN4CRD

KN4CRD Ham Member QRZ Page

FT8Call has an ARM version for Debian Stretch. There's not an Android version. One benefit to a Pi... your touchscreen isn't connected to the radio, so it's a little more ergonomic.

3. K8XG

K8XG XML Subscriber QRZ Page

I do pack a mini netbook with builtin mouse eraser when I work in the field. My hand held receiver from 10 years ago is still in my Faraday safe along with 2 laptops, the mini netbook, radios, solar charge controllers, etc... only need one working Sat to read the time in debug data using old school hand held or your own TTL serial UBlox GPS module now less then $20.

With no power running WWV isn't going to work long. Many plan to use FSQ type modes and Olivia type modes in such a case. This seems like an FSQcall feature set with FT8 modulation.

KN4CRD likes this.
  4. KN4CRD

Heavily inspired by FSQCall. A bit slower, but has been shown to work where WSQ and FSQ can't because of the FT8 sensitivity. Cool description here about a comparison test on 630m: http://njdtechnologies.net/081518/

K8XG likes this.
  5. WA4JQS

WA4JQS Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

THERE are still a lot of us who use RTTY .. i really do NOT think 14.080 was a good freq to pick. .078 would have been better maybe.
    73 Tony

NO2Y and KN4CRD like this.
  6. KN4CRD