ad: HamHats-1

The Amateur Radio Parity Act - Could become reality...

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by AA7BQ, Aug 9, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
  1. K6CLS

K6CLS Ham Member QRZ Page

Model rockets. The BATFE attempted to regulate some of the propellants we use. We won against that, in the longest federal court case ever, but they still feel they can regulate the igniters.

It's just a hobby, right?

W1YW likes this.
  2. W1YW

W1YW Ham Member QRZ Page

Thank you for your well wishes.

The President of the ARRL has no especial control or insight into the outcome which will result from the present wording. Like you or me, he has every right to express his opinion. However, being an antenna professional, I have daily contact with attorneys, and decades of practical experience in contract law. I am not a lawyer. Indeed, I am something far more important: a concerned party. This allows me to have the wherewithal to ASK QUESTIONS OF ATTORNEYS about exposure and risk inherent to proposed wording of clauses. It allows me to recognize issues AND HAVE EXPERIENCED COUNSEL to answer questions relevant to same.

The meaning is ALL IN THE WORDS.

I have now discussed this bill wording with --6-- attorneys and they all see major problems for US hams if it passes. K1VR has done a nice job summarizing the main points. He did so independent of my input or feedback.

I listen to K1VR on matters for which he has expertise. This is a matter on which he has expertise.

It is absolutely bizarre that you want to ACT on something because the PRESIDENT OF A NON-PROFIT told you to do so. It seems to me that it is not only appropriate but VALUABLE for you, and others, to USE that exhortation to LOOK FURTHER INTO THE FACTS. You take it as an act of faith that an exhortation is the pure basis for action.

That, my friend is activism.

Count me out.