ad: M2Ant-1

Jamaica - No more Morse code for radio operators, technicians

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by W1SAR, Jun 13, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
  1. LU9FMS

LU9FMS Ham Member QRZ Page

Well, that's a weird thing. I don't think CW is obsolete at all- it's just that there are many other tools and resources that people use nowadays. But hey! It is still useful to know a little bit of CW, though. :)

KF4ZKU and W4LJ like this.
  2. WA7PRC

WA7PRC Ham Member QRZ Page

Me too. It was hard to slow down to 13 wpm. When I went to the FCC office for the General Class exam, I was one of several who were there to take the 13 wpm exam (one minute straight, letter-for-letter perfect). One fellow was there for his Extra Class exam, and the examiner cranked the machine up for him first. I flipped my paper over and easily copied 20 wpm. It didn't count 'cuz I was a Novice, and they wouldn't let you test for Extra 'til you'd been a General or higher for at least a year.

3. KJ4YDW

KJ4YDW Ham Member QRZ Page

That is not true as I am on the bands from time to time.

4. KA7FTP

KA7FTP Ham Member QRZ Page

Are you sure you are dyslexic? Dyslexia is lack of phonemic awareness. Dislexics are visual thinkers. I also happen to be very auditory. The part of the brain that processes language is underdeveloped in dyslexics. When I was young they were not even aware of the condition. I learned morse code very easily when I was a teen ager, but have an impossible time with the written test. Later when we had a family one of my daughters was diagnosed with dyslexia. At that point it became clear what I had struggled with.

This article may help.

https://www.dyslexia.com/about-dyslexia/dyslexic-talents/the-visual-spatial-learner/

5. WA7PRC

A former boss used to say he is "lysdexic". :p

6. YV5WZ

YV5WZ XML Subscriber QRZ Page

Are you at Jamaica? from time to time on CW?

7. W4HM

W4HM XML Subscriber QRZ Page