ad: M2Ant-1

HamRadioNow: That ARRL Entry Level License Survey

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by K4AAQ, Mar 2, 2017.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-2
ad: Left-3
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Radclub22-2
  1. WB9VPG

WB9VPG XML Subscriber QRZ Page

As a teacher, I see that we definitely do have to teach to the test to survive, which is not good. But, I see WAY more kids taking calculus and trig much EARLIER. Many of our students are finishing those in the sophomore or junior year, and taking college math classes like Calculus II, Finite, etc. during the senior year. One of mine right now is taking differential equations! While my school is toward the top more than several, it's still your typical public high school. Other "average" high schools have the same thing happening.

We need to make this test, since we are stuck with it, relevant so that it teaches potential hams to know how to participate. Once they are on the air, that's when the real learning starts. But those fundamental facts and skills need to be checked off somehow before we turn them loose.

AG5DB and KK5R like this.
  2. WF9Q

WF9Q Ham Member QRZ Page

Well said. Keep up the outstanding work getting one student up to DE's, that is great. It would be nice if your school would be able to pass the mojo around.

WB9VPG likes this.
  3. W8VIJ

W8VIJ Premium Subscriber QRZ Page

John why did you bother to reply if you weren't concerned? The sky isn't falling. The hobby is dwindling! It is quite apparent to me and others. I am certainly not worried about it. I am simply not in denial like you are.

WF9Q likes this.
  4. WB0MPB

WB0MPB Ham Member QRZ Page

I posted cause I wanted to. I didn't know I needed your permission!!