ad: ProAudio-1

Building a Magnetic Loop Antenna Series for Beginners [Video]

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by OH8STN, Dec 23, 2016.

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
ad: Left-3
  1. OH8STN

OH8STN Ham Member QRZ Page

This is the introduction to the Building a DIY Magnetic Loop Antenna for Beginners Series. Chameleon Antenna was kind enough to provide their new magnetic loop starter kit making this series possible. In this series we will show the operator how to use the DIY Magnetic Loop Antenna starter kit to build their own mag-loop antenna, according to their budget, their requirements, their specifications. I'm also new to the Starter Kit, and have only once built a 6 meter magnetic loop antenna to use with my Yaesu FT-817ND. So we are all kind of new to this.

I'm giving a little more description that normally, because people who are not signed up for YouTube have complained about not being able to see the full description and links on an embedded video posted to QRZ.com

Magnetic Loop antennas for amateur radio are increasing in popularity these days. The light weight, easy deployment characteristics of a magnetic loop antenna make them a popular choice for HOA restricted Ham radio operators, or for anyone who can't or doesn't want to deploy traditional supported dipole or wire type antennas in the field.

Getting Started
    - First thing you might want to join the DIY Magnetic Loop Antenna Facebook group

- Second, get yourself the Starter Kit from Chameleon Antenna, or source the components yourself http://chameleonantenna.com/ACCESSORIES/ACCESSORIES.html

- Next (only if you're interested, read the the OH8STN blog post which outlines his build plans for the series. You can find that blog here http://www.survivaltechnology.net/magnetic-loop-antenna-builders-buying-or-building-it-yourself/