ad: UR5CDX-1

Yaesu's "overlooked" Dayton introduction - the FT-1D

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio News' started by N8MSA, May 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: Left-3
ad: abrind-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Left-2
  1. WA6ITF

WA6ITF Ham Member QRZ Page

Many years ago, when I was a Broadcast Engineer specializing in the repair of 1/2" Betacam, M-II and other broadcast video recorders, I attended numerous schools on various VCR models from several Japan-based manufacturers. Each time I would ask the same question: "Why is it that you have such a different and incompatible product with everyone else?"

The answer was always the same: (Paraphrased): "Thats our way. We NEVER will make the same product as our competitor because that is our way. Our standard is the only standard. No other exists..."

I think that business mindset explains far more than one technology being superior to another. Or as my friend Ron used to say: "The nice thing about standards is that everybody has one."

My personal belief is that unless the ham radio community as a whole selects its own singular digital standard and refuses all others, that at some time in the future when radios are digital-only with no common analog format like FM or SSB included, we will have a world-wide amateur radio community where owners of one brand of radio will have no way to talk to the owners of any other brand of radio.