Callsign

Thread: How much desense on a repeater is OK ?

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-rl
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-innov
ad: l-sarc
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-gcopper

Let's get one thing straight right off the bat, ... I am NOT an expert on repeaters. Still, I have our local 147.330 ARES county repeater in my shop on our tower and it's starting to act differently. We started to notice degraded performance several months ago. The antenna SWR is about 1.2:1 so I don't think there is a problem with the antenna or feedline. I can bring up another repeater 30 miles away with a 1 watt HT on this antenna. When I disable the repeater transmitter and couple a signal into the receiver (through another antenna on the tower) the COR activates at about -102 dbm. When I re-enable the repeater transmitter and repeat the sensitivity test, the COR now activates at about -95 dbm. 7 db seems like a bit much to me. And,... the COR sometimes "chatters" badly in the region in between -95 and ~-100 dbm. My initial thought is that the Wacom WP 639 "4 pack" duplexer is either detuned or defective. I do not have a manual on this duplexerand have never tuned one. Any thoughts on this? Tom WA4ILH

Tom -

I don't like any desense on a repeater's receiver, but it can happen. #I usually used a 6 cavity duplexer for 2 meters. #The Wacom duplexer is factory tuned to the exact operating frequencies prior to shipment from the factory (marked on unit). No further field tuning or adjustment is normally required. If it becomes necessary to change the operating frequencies of the duplexer, it can be field tuned if a spectrum analyzer with a tracking generator is available. In addition a 50 ohm load will be required.

I would suggest the Repeater Builders web site. #
    http://www.repeater-builder.com/rbtip/

This has most of the information you will require, including Field Instructions for Tuning the Wacom WP- 639 duplexer (REMEC/Wacom still located in Waco, TX):