ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-innov
ad: l-rl
ad: l-gcopper

I have recently been volunteering for antenna work in our local area trying to learn more about our hobby.

I helped put up an antenna that I had never seen before. #We put up an antenna that was made of 2 mobile #antennas, 2-20 meter hamsticks, used as a dipole for 20 meters.

I am new at ham radio and joined the local club. A fellow ham showed me how you can take 2- 20 meter hamsticks and convert them to a horizontal 20 meter dipole.

I was quite impressed! We are going to put up a 40 meter dipole too. #I got the job of climbing the tower, of course, I am the "young-new guy".

It was 36 degrees outside that day with a wind of about 20 miles per hour. (that is another story) #I actually learned quite a bit! #You can make low frequency dipoles from mobile antennas!

This has become the "ultimate" antenna in our area now. This antenna has all the same results of the "big" antennas but takes up a lot less space.

Can we get them in 160 meters? #I hope we can wait for warmer weather to find out!!

KB9ZCV, Jeff

Yes Jeff, 160 meters is possible. #When I was a newbie a bunch of old timers show me a can of eXtended Range Antenna Wax that they just raved about. #I got so excited I put it on my home TV antenna. #When I reported to them that "nothing happened" they told me that "it's only forumlated for ham frequencies". #Ah Ha!, I thought, this is going to be a lifelong learning experience.

Welcome to the hobby!

-fred #AA7BQ
    [/QUOTE]

Thumbs up

I have to agree - those ham stick dipoles are the tops! I was running a vhf station at my club's hamfest w/ my 706 MKIIG. I took (and passed) the general and code tests, went to a vendor, bought the kit (about $50) and 15 minutes later was making psk contacts in Europe! I'll be getting a tower one of these days but for now I'm convinced.

Jaime

36-6 Ft Evans Road NE Apt 2, Leesburg VA 20176