ad: l-rl
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-tentec

Default Digimodes and a FT747GX........

I NEED AN ELMER!!!!!!

Ok folks I'm totally new to digimodes.

I have a DIGI M8 interface from MCR, which has a built in USB soundcard.

the rig is a FT747GX

form googling, I see that the only way to connect up is using the mic plug on the front of the rig for an input, output can be the AF out, round the back and as there's no VOX in a 747GX I need to manually do that.

so, there is a PTT line on the interface. do I need to switch that manually in parallel to the rig (DPDT switch?) and the controls are TX gain, RX gain & delay. tghe first two I understand, but what needs delayed?

THANKS!

Martin

I don't have any information on the Digi M8 interface. But on the FT747GX, all the connections are available for use with a typical digital interface. I will assume for a moment that the M* works like most of the others out there.

PTT should be controlled by a virtual serial port through the USB connection to the M8. The PTT output from the M8 should be connected to the PTT jack on the rear panel of the 747 with an RCA plug. The computer software you use will be looking for a serial port number to use for PTT. Assuming you are using Windows, you will have to go into the Control Panel - Hardware and Sound - Devices and Printers - Device Manager. The listing will show a category for 'Ports'. If the M8 is connected and everything is working, you should see a 'port' number associated with it. You may need to unplug and replug the M8 to identify which port it is. Once you've set this port number in the digital software, it should be able to key the radio when you go into transmit.