Callsign
ad: KU4HP-1
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Yaesu FTDX-5000 no longer being offered?

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-innov
ad: l-AmericanRadio
ad: l-rl
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-gcopper
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Prescott Valley, Az
    Posts
    5,707

    Default Yaesu FTDX-5000 no longer being offered?

    I know that the FT-950 is being replaced by the FTDX-1200 and the FT-2000 is history also.
    But someone just told me that the FTDX-5000 is now no longer going to be offered?
    Lots of changes taking place or so it seems.
    Is Yaesu coming of with an entire new line of radios?
    US Army Radio Operator/instructor 1966-72
    MOS 05B/O5B4H

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Crest, Ca (just East of El Cajon)
    Posts
    28,142

    Default

    They BETTER not discontinue it!!!
    I have had mine only 8 months!!!
    I love my cats!
    PHOEBE and PENELOPE MEW!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Prescott Valley, Az
    Posts
    5,707

    Default

    Accord to the AES site that I looked at after I was told this were going 2 of the 3 are closing out.

    http://www.aesham.com/index.php?p=ca..._str=ftdx-5000
    US Army Radio Operator/instructor 1966-72
    MOS 05B/O5B4H

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Richland, WA
    Posts
    1,013

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by W7KKK View Post
    Accord to the AES site that I looked at after I was told this were going 2 of the 3 are closing out.

    http://www.aesham.com/index.php?p=ca..._str=ftdx-5000
    Perhaps they are discontinuing the FT-DX5000/5000D in favor of the new FT-DX5000MP?
    Mark, NM7L: Celebrating 37 years in ham radio (1977-2014)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    San Manuel, AZ
    Posts
    519

    Default

    That has been my impression for a few weeks. They will only be offering the tricked out model.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WA6MHZ View Post
    They BETTER not discontinue it!!!
    I have had mine only 8 months!!!
    What's the problem? If they close it out, yours will be RARE!
    73 de Jim, N2EY

    [I]"Enjoy every sandwich" - [/I]Warren Zevon

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Crest, Ca (just East of El Cajon)
    Posts
    28,142

    Default

    I have a MP, so mine is still in Production.

    Yaesu did this back in the 70s with the FT-101 series.

    They had the "E" and then the "EE" to save a few dollars. They left off a few features.
    Then the "FX" version came out, virutally the same. I have all 3. All 3 about the same.
    I love my cats!
    PHOEBE and PENELOPE MEW!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Prescott Valley, Az
    Posts
    5,707

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WA6MHZ View Post
    I have a MP, so mine is still in Production.

    Yaesu did this back in the 70s with the FT-101 series.

    They had the "E" and then the "EE" to save a few dollars. They left off a few features.
    Then the "FX" version came out, virutally the same. I have all 3. All 3 about the same.
    I guess that my memory escapes me. In the mid 70s when I got my Novice ticket I had a Swan 350 and sold it and bought an FT-101EE and I thought the only difference was that the EE model had the speech compression feature?
    US Army Radio Operator/instructor 1966-72
    MOS 05B/O5B4H

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Kilowatt Alley
    Posts
    9,736

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by W7KKK View Post
    I guess that my memory escapes me. In the mid 70s when I got my Novice ticket I had a Swan 350 and sold it and bought an FT-101EE and I thought the only difference was that the EE model had the speech compression feature?
    The E model had the speech processor. The EE model was the E Economy model. It was about a $100 difference.
    It's been a while but I am pretty certain the processor was the only difference.

    The EX and FX was the eXtreme economy model with no processor, dc converter, mic, dc power cord, no 160 meter crystal, and only the 10A crystal installed.
    Last edited by K7MH; 08-02-2013 at 05:41 PM.
    "Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practice to receive."
    -Otto Watt Sept. 5 1925

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Prescott Valley, Az
    Posts
    5,707

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K7MH View Post
    The E model had the speech processor. The EE model was the E Economy model. It was about a $100 difference.
    It's been a while but I am pretty certain the processor was the only difference.

    The EX and FX was the eXtreme economy model with no processor, dc converter, mic, dc power cord, no 160 meter crystal, and only the 10A crystal installed.
    OK, I know that I bought the one with the speech compression but I thought in years past that it was the EE, not the E. Memory is fading I guess.
    I bought it preparation to go ahead and take my general test in SF. I knew the code from the Army and was working electronics for the Navy at the time.
    But I was entirely too busy with a young family with two kids, overtime, going to college 3-4 night a week and all so I just gave up the hobby and sold the station off.
    I only got to use the rig as a Novice for a short time and of course that was CW only at the time.
    US Army Radio Operator/instructor 1966-72
    MOS 05B/O5B4H

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •