ad: l-Waters
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-innov
ad: l-rl
ad: l-tentec

Default Kenwood TS-930S, No transmit

Hi All

I have a TS-930S that does not transmit. The meter reads about 1A collector current on transmit. That's all I get out of it.

The drivers, finals, and bias appear OK. Supply voltages are all OK.

This is a later serial number unit, so it does not have the digital board issues of older ones.

Any ideas?

I am an electronics tech by trade (20+ years exp. component level) but do not have a whole lot of the time to troubleshoot this thing. It's a side project, so that's why I'm posting my question here.

Thanks to all for the help resolving the first issue I had with this!

Mike
    W9MAS
    Last edited by W9MAS; 07-15-2013 at 03:56 PM.

Whats the drive input like to the PA department, is there drive there? I reckon this is the first port of call, a service manual could be had freely from many sources.

For the standing current with NO drive in TX mode driver pair should be 70mA set with VR2 and final pair set to 1.3A with VR1, allowing 30 seconds for the current to stabilize according to the manual in both cases.

This is set in TX mode with NO RF drive, obviously RF drive will cause the current to rise, also no RF drive will equate to no rf output.

Dave

if you can isolate transistor of driver, and final, usually simple PN junction test with multimeter can tell if that transistor is bad or not. also, TS-930 often lose regulation of power supply, if display light flicker or voltage change a lot during transmit, power supply regulation can be problem.

Quote Originally Posted by AG6JU View Post
    if you can isolate transistor of driver, and final, usually simple PN junction test with multimeter can tell if that transistor is bad or not. also, TS-930 often lose regulation of power supply, if display light flicker or voltage change a lot during transmit, power supply regulation can be problem.
    What good will that do if there's no RF drive?