ad: l-rl
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-AmericanRadio
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-innov
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-gcopper

Default FET TESTER design by G0CWA

Hi all this is a companion tester to my earlier crystal tester and again it is made from "junk box" parts.
    Most DVM's available now can test bipolar transistors but a tester for FET's is rare.

A detailed write up is available on

http://makearadio.com/visitors/nick-fet-tester.php

in Daves visitors section.
    I am following this with designs for other items of home brew test equipment.
    Happy testing de Nick G0CWA
    [CENTER]It is a hobby just enjoy building your radios, don't be afraid to have a go yourself.

You can always put the magic smoke back
    into a component that goes bang to make it work again !!!! [/CENTER]

Looks good

I made a FET tester when I was a student and I think I still have it in the loft somewhere. it was built in an old tobacco tin and I fitted an old CB S meter to it for the indicator.

From memory I used a crystal oscillator to drive the FET under test with a small RF signal. I then used a similar detector circuit as your own to measure the output level.

I made it so I could select and match JFETs for use in balanced circuits etc. I think it could do MOSFETs as well (eg 40673) as I remember using a 4 hole test socket and I probably biased the spare hole for gate 2.

I really should look for it one day and I think there should still be a little piece of paper inside the tin with all the common FET pinouts written on it...

I had a quick rummage today and found it...

It also tests dual gate mosfets like the BF981 by soldering to the 4 little posts around the 4 way skt.

It does the testing at RF and was at its most useful when cherry picking FETs for best Gm or matching them.

I can't remember for sure when I made it but I think it would have been mid 1980s and you can see it was built in a hurry

Quote Originally Posted by G0HZU View Post