ad: M2Ant-1

CQ contest question

Discussion in 'Contests, DXpeditions, QSO Parties, Special Events' started by KE6CRK, Nov 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-rl
ad: Left-3
ad: Left-2
ad: L-MFJ
ad: Radclub22-2
ad: abrind-2
  1. KE6CRK

KE6CRK Ham Member QRZ Page

Hi, I'm fairly new to HF after upgrading to General a few months back. I hear a lot of stations on 40M and 20M meters contesting. My question, what information are they collecting from the other answering stations? I think Grid location is part of it, but what other info should I have available for them?

I recorded a little last night http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDpKo28olCk&list=PLK5tCtippNPdMS0ErAY5zH43ORAeLBfAT&feature=mh_lolz for reference. Towards the end you can hear him asking for check & section.

Kelvin

2. W7MMQ

W7MMQ Ham Member QRZ Page

That is ARRL Phone Sweepstakes, one of the oldest contests going. Condensed explanation: Work as many stations in US, Canada and other US possessions only once (no multiple band contact)
    Exchange is Qso Number followed by "Category" A for low power B for High Q for QRP (there are others), your callsign, Year you were first licensed, ARRL section

For example my exchange would be

001 A W7MMQ 89 Montana

Can be a fun event great way to work alot of states on different bands

3. WG7X

WG7X Platinum Subscriber Platinum Subscriber QRZ Page

Kelvin,

Every contest has a different exchange. An exchange can be a simple as a signal report and name or more complex as in the ARRL Sweepstakes that is going on this week-end.

The exchange for sweep stakes goes back to the old school days of the ARRL message relay system. Its the most complicated exchange of all, but it makes sense when you understand where it comes from.