Callsign
ad: sscomp
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Invite to QRZCQ is this a phishing / rip off ?

ad: l-AmericanRadio
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-ezhang
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-hrd-1
ad: l-innov
ad: l-BCInc
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mpls. , MN.
    Posts
    2,940

    Default Invite to QRZCQ is this a phishing / rip off ?

    Got an email that sad I was invited to join QRZCQ and to go to there site to register , and invited by DO5SSB - does not come up on lookup .
    Any info on this .
    I can copy the email if any of the ZED staff needs ?
    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Crest, Ca (just East of El Cajon)
    Posts
    23,435

    Default

    I got that too. Wonder WTF? I didn't bite on it. The RB's musta harvested every email addy on QRZed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mpls. , MN.
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    Here's a copy of the email , hopefully get some response with more info , anybody else seen or know of anything about ?
    Hello KD0CAC!

    You are receiving this email because DO5SSB has invited you
    to join QRZCQ.com - The database for radio hams.

    If you do not like this invitation, simply ignore this email.

    You will never be invited again by the same user after this invitation.

    If you want to join QRZCQ.com you can finish the process by this link:

    http://qrzcq.com/invite/764a64f56dbf...df31b3046072ef

    This private invitation will only remain valid for the next 30 days.

    The QRZCQ Team

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 1992
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,369

    Default

    It's not a scam. The QRZCQ site was created specifically to copycat QRZ. They're trying everything they can to lure our users to their site. They even took a copy of our database and are claiming that it was "given to them".

    The best thing we can do is make sure that everybody knows that there is no added value in QRZCQ and that their only aim is to use our name (and CQ's) in an attempt to duplicate our success. In my opinion, their behavior has been pathetic.
    Fred Lloyd, AA7BQ
    Publisher, QRZ.COM
    aa7bq@qrz.com

    Need QRZ Help? Click Here

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mpls. , MN.
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    Thanks Fred , for this site and the info .
    I do not think I have anymore time to spend on the net

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Beautiful Downtown Colorado. (Montrose, SW corner)
    Posts
    24,862

    Default

    I didn't get the invite.

    I feel unloved.

    TOM K8ERV Montrose Colo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mpls. , MN.
    Posts
    2,940

    Default

    Tom ,
    You can use mine .

  8. #8

    Thumbs down

    I got an invitation today from a German Call Sign I never contacted neither via radio/voice nor via email or other means of communication.
    He used the QRZ.COM email address to send the invitation.
    That for me is SPAM and the colleagues should avoid such a attitude, isn't professional.
    If it was like of Facebook or other social networks were someone I know is inviting me, then I would take the invite in consideration.
    The statement in the email which says:
    If you do not like this invitation, simply ignore this email.
    You will never be invited again by the same user after this invitation.
    is useless as I could receive invitation from other users and that's spam for me...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Pearland Tx
    Posts
    4,297

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K8ERV View Post
    I didn't get the invite.

    I feel unloved.

    TOM K8ERV Montrose Colo
    Vanna loves ya
    Every ham should be honey baked and spiral sliced

    You know you're a Texan when Whataburger is pronounced Waterburger

    Lake between Montrose and Ridgway Colo
    http://forums2.qrz.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=281079&dateline=12948  87410

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Fort Pierce FL
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for the update on this subject. I recieved an invite a few months ago from
    JA6XZS has requested that you become friends. You can approve or deny this
    request by visiting:

    http://forums.qrz.com/profile.php?do=buddylist

    All the best,
    QRZ Forums

    I did not reply. Alarm bells going off everywhere!!!
    Yesterday I got an e mail from my friend KY6V saying he got the same invite wanting any info on the matter. I told him what I did and he said he did the same.
    Thanks again for the updated info.

    K4JAK

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •