Callsign
ad: vanity
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Is there an equivalent to the Linux 'halt' command in Windows?

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-innov
ad: l-rl
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-gcopper
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    in a seaside village
    Posts
    2,066

    Default Is there an equivalent to the Linux 'halt' command in Windows?

    Just as the subject line says. Can I use the command line to shutdown the computer without using the graphical interface?

    73, Jordan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    SanDiego, People's Republic of California FEMA District 9
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    Yes you can
    just bring up the command prompt and type shutdown
    You should get the list of command line arguments...

    The way the command behaves in XP is a little different than in Seven however the same functionality is retained.

    I've used the shutdown command in my computer that records TV shows to shut off the computer after a program had been recorded.
    When it's time, and it may be sooner than you think.

  3. #3

    Default

    If you want to do more than the standard shutdown utility then there's PsShutdown. I think it still works on current versions of Windows.

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s...rnals/bb897541

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    SanDiego, People's Republic of California FEMA District 9
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KT1F View Post
    If you want to do more than the standard shutdown utility then there's PsShutdown. I think it still works on current versions of Windows.

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s...rnals/bb897541
    It does. ......
    When it's time, and it may be sooner than you think.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AF6LJ View Post
    Yes you can
    just bring up the command prompt and type shutdown
    You should get the list of command line arguments...

    The way the command behaves in XP is a little different than in Seven however the same functionality is retained.

    I've used the shutdown command in my computer that records TV shows to shut off the computer after a program had been recorded.
    Shutdown, when issued in Windows 7, will save the state of all running applications then shut the machine down. Powering the machine back up will return the machine, including any/all applications that were running, excluding
    any external website applications, to the same state before the shutdown command was issued.If a web browser was logged into a website, that log in sessions will be terminated
    and the operator will have to log back into the website once the machine is back up. I tested this with my 64 bit Windows 7 machine and that's how it functions in Windows 7.

    I don't see the "PsShutdown" command listed nor does Windows 7 recognize that as a valid command.

    73s
    Mike
    W5RKL

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    127.0.0.1 - There is no place like home...
    Posts
    1,662

    Default

    Command is:

    shutdown -h now

    Oops... you meant for windows... i need to read more carefully!

    ...DOUG
    KD4MOJ
    Surfing the net with my Radio Shack TRS Model III
    I'm a Prisoner (FH#1125), Locked up in Hellschreiber.
    30 Meter Digital Group #1076 - JT65-HF Addict (currently in treatment)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    SanDiego, People's Republic of California FEMA District 9
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KD4MOJ View Post
    Command is:

    shutdown -h now

    Oops... you meant for windows... i need to read more carefully!

    ...DOUG
    KD4MOJ
    That also.
    When it's time, and it may be sooner than you think.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Blanchard, LA.
    Posts
    842

    Default

    I thought the shut down command for Windows was a "16 pound adjustment tool" and to
    "Press ANY Key", LOL!

    Don/KA5LQJ

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    SanDiego, People's Republic of California FEMA District 9
    Posts
    40,199

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KA5LQJ View Post
    I thought the shut down command for Windows was a "16 pound adjustment tool" and to
    "Press ANY Key", LOL!

    Don/KA5LQJ
    You are confused that is the Mac shutdown tool.
    When it's time, and it may be sooner than you think.

  10. #10

    Default

    The trick with Windows machines is to keep them from shutting down, not shutting them down.
    KY5U - Be a REAL amateur, learn CW.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •