Callsign
ad: giga-rw
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Scammer

ad: l-AmericanRadio
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-hrd-1
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-ezhang
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-innov
ad: l-Waters
  1. #1

    Default Scammer

    GOT MY FIRST SCAM ALL READY WITH MY FIRST POSTING

    HE IS USING THE CALL SIGN KB9TTM

    THIS GUY IS GOOD AS I HAD A HARD TIME TO TRACE HIM,BUT HE DID PHONE ME FROM THE UK
    EVEN THE IP ADDRESS LOOKED GOOD

    NUMBER WAS 1 780 702 7489,,JUST HAVE TO GOOGLE IT TO SEE HE'S A SCAMMER

    THIS IS WHAT I GOT,,SORRY ABOUT ALL CAPS ON

    Hello,

    I have an essentially brand new Kenwood R-820 Receiver with all four optional IF filters installed in mint conditions both inside/out and comes with all original accessories including: The original box, manual, mic, power cord, Kenwood SP-820 speaker, etc. This radio is in absolutely new condition and has never been modified or opened. This unit has never been in a smoking environment and it is still in its original packaging with out any fault or damages, i am the original owner and i will sell the complete unit for $600 shipped.

    The Kenwood R-820 is amateur band HF communications receiver. It receives the following amateur bands in AM, SSB, CW and RTTY modes: 1.8-2, 3.5-4, 7-7.5, 14-14.5, 21-21.5, 28-28.5, 28.5-29, 29-29.5, 29.5-30 MHz. Additionally, it covers these shortwave broadcast bands: 5.9-6.4, 9.4-9.9, 11.5-12, 15-15.5 and 17.7-18.2 MHz. The R-820 has a built-in crystal controlled oscillator for fixed frequency operation with the addition of up to 4 crystals (not supplied). This very capable receiver features analog and digital readout, IF Shift, Notch, Attenuator, Variable Bandwidth Tuning, RF Gain and Noise Blanker.

    The R-820 is compatible with the TS-820S series. This radio does not have a built in speaker, is included with the optional SP-820 speaker. Operates from 100/120/220/240 VAC or 12-15 VDC. Physical: 13.125 x 6 x 14 inches. (333x153x335mm 12 kg).


    DAVID C ROGERS, KB9YYM
    1670 COTTONGRASS DRIVE
    BROWNSBURG, IN 46112
    USA


    Can you do a Money Order? I will arrange for shipment and will get back to you with the tracking when it has been shipped.


    Thanks Don,

    I am firm at $600 because this unit is mint without any fault and complete with everything that came with it new in box. Would be better for me to ring you because I have been very busy lately at work and don't usually have time but I can always ring you whenever I am free to talk. Also if you are willing to purchase the rig from me kindly advise your shipping information.

    73's
    David

    What do you? I am not fooling you neither am I trying to scam you.

    -----Original message-----
    Sent: Monday, 23 January 2012 at 18:38:25
    From: Don <ve2ud@TRAVEL-NET.COM>
    To: kb9yym@alumni.com
    Subject: Re: Kenwood R-820 Receiver
    _try scamming some one else as you can't fool me Jose_

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chatsworth, CA
    Posts
    602

    Default

    What's the scam?
    That he called you from the UK?
    Maybe he's a travelling businessman,
    did you ask him that?
    EVEN THE IP ADDRESS LOOKED GOOD
    What does that mean?
    His IP was from his home town
    or from the UK?
    If you do a free "people search" it shows he
    (YYM) lives in the town listed on QRZ, as do several family members.

    Yeah, one paragraph of ad copy for the rig
    was in his ad, is that what your basing your scam on it.

    I thought there was a sticky here about
    "Watch wat you post about people"

    Whats the scam, exactly?

  3. #3

    Default

    What do you? I am not fooling you neither am I trying to scam you.

    He addmitted he was so Take off Eh!

  4. #4

    Default

    His reply
    What do you? I am not fooling you neither am I trying to scam you.
    Why did he not reply on here instead of you
    He had the radio since new,not used,,look at his picture on QRZ,he would have white hair by now Red flag
    He did a copy from the Ebay add and also wanted money Order red flag
    Google search showed concern from a lot of people with that phone number red flag

    Hey you buy it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chatsworth, CA
    Posts
    602

    Default

    He said "essentially brand new".
    Doesn't mean brand new.
    Money Order? I've taken dozens in payment with no problems.
    From banks, credit unions, Wal Mart, Circle K, 7-11...no problems.
    Now if it was a Western Union Money Order that would be different.

    You never answered my question if the IP came from his hometown
    or the UK.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Sutherland, Northern Cape, South Africa
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi Guys

    The same gentleman (or supposed gentleman) seems to be trying to scam me too.

    He responded to a request for a radio - I advertised it on one of our local swopshops. This guy has made the for his money which I have not and will not send. He wants me to do a moneygram as his paypal account has been suspended and he was defrauded that way. He has sent me to the couriers web page 'http://www.firstflightscourier.totalh.com/' and the tracking number he gave me even works, except that the route it followed is by no means the route stuff follows from the US. He is quite insistant that I trabsfer the money and now that the trail is getting hot he is trying to settle for half the payment as "deposit" I have insisted that he give me the local courier agents details. Firstflights web page is so amateurish that is is quite clearly a fake company. His initial contact was almost the same word for word, except that the model of radio was different - the price too good to be true and also never in a smoking environment.

    What really gets my goat is that he signs all his demands 73!

    Do not deal with this guy - or do so at your own perril. Thanks VE2UD for the confirmation

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Chatsworth, CA
    Posts
    602

    Default

    He is a scammer all right, I have heard enough.

    Various incarnations of "First Flight Couriers"
    are fron/helper sites for scammers. This is fact.
    I know hams who have been handed off to a FAKE
    "First Flight Courier" site.

    (Not to be confused with the LEGIT First Flight Courier
    company in India. God I feel for those fellows)

    THAT is where the real scam begins.
    The shipper has already sent his money. That's gone.
    Now "First Flight" comes back to the shipper with
    fake "Inspection Fees" "Police Fees" "Security Fees".
    They even had the temerity to try and collect $1,300 USD
    VAT (Value Added Tax) on a $450 radio supposedly
    being shipped from London to Moscow.


    I also know of a ham who got nicked by them while
    trying to buy TWO Collins 30-L amplifiers. He sent his
    money to the "seller" and was given fake shipping numbers
    by the fake first flight.

    I got that particilar First Flight fake website shut down but they
    pop up like weeds. I also got their bank account flagged as I insisted
    I would transfer the money instead of sending by WU.
    This was done by ansering one of their ads and pretending
    to be a desperate buyer.

    Ido not know if more than one group of dcammers is
    putting up the FAKE "first flight" websites, or if the name
    is just out there to be used by any scammer. The layouts
    are all the same, with different emails, and "70x" UK cell
    phone forwarding telephne numbers. IF it is one group
    of scammersrunning the FAKE "First Flight Courier"
    website scams, they are quite sophistiated and computer
    savy. OR, they may be offering it at a service for other
    scammers for a cut of the profit. I think it is the latter.
    Fake First Flight has been going on for years.

  8. #8

    Default

    Who in America says, "Ring you?"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •