Callsign
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Please be aware, someone is spoofing my ident , VA3ELE

ad: l-AmericanRadio
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-innov
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-hrd-1
ad: l-ezhang
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada L5L 1E1
    Posts
    8

    Default Please be aware, someone is spoofing my ident , VA3ELE

    I am the original VA3ELE and this is myself posting this warning to anyone that is looking to purchase anything from me! I do not have any products for sale.

    someone is spoofing my ident here using an email peterva3ele@aol.com

    this is not my email, please be aware. I do not wish to have my rep damaged by imitators/scammers


    Thank you to vk6wb for bringing this to my attention, your help is much appreciated.

  2. #2

    Default

    That's why I sent you an email Peter, to advise you on this.

    There is, I think, and darn sure, we all think, there is far too
    much of this crap going on lately.

    It seems impossible to think that even hams are doing it to other hams.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada L5L 1E1
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you also for helping with this. i just saw the email form you as I was showing my wife the other emails.
    What else can I do to prevent being impostered ?

  4. #4

    Default

    This guy offered me a HD-70HG for $2K. Seemed too good to be true and it was. Based on the emails I received English maybe a second language for this guy but then folks often say that about me. Thanks for the heads up.
    Chuck K7BVT

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada L5L 1E1
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Looks like another scam has been inforce, It has been brought to my attention that "I" am selling a HD tower for $2000. Nope, I am not. same email adress is being used

  6. #6

    Default

    Someone with your call tried to sell me a TS-60. His email was: VA3ELE@dcemail.com.

    I assume that's not you, either.
    73 de KA3QOT

    Dennis

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada L5L 1E1
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thank you Dennis, no that is not me, my only and proper email address can be found on my QRZ info.

    I will contact this ISP also.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Langley B.C.
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi Peter. Good thing I checked here. I've got an email from this scammer saying "you've" got an FT107M with the matching power supply for sale.
    I don't know if you've posted this notice anywhere else, but www.eham.net would be another good place.
    73..de..Graham
    VE7ABC
    Graham

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada L5L 1E1
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Thanks Graham I will do that. what email did the scammer use? please post here so I can keep track and notify the ISP

    thanks again. I just registered my domain peter@VA3ELE.ca and peter@VA3ELE.com ,these will be the only email I will use from now on for ham radio communications
    so if there is something for sale that looks like its from me and doesnt have one of those two email adress' it's not me

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Langley B.C.
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Here is the email he gave me Peter: peterva3ele@aol.com
    Hope this helps.
    73..
    Graham
    Graham

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •