ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-innov
ad: l-rl
ad: l-Waters

Contribute
to QRZ

Default antenna tuner help

I just picked up an MFJ -941D tuner that does 10m-160m, only problem i have is i have never used a tuner before. i have used swr meters to tune the antenna in the area i want to use it for but since i am back and forth from cb to 10 meters my antenna is a bit off to do both.

a few questions regarding the operation of this tuner:

is this the correct way to hook it inline:

radio to antenna tuner input, antenna tuner output to input of SWR meter, swr meter output to antenna?

the process of matching should it go in this order:

set unductor setting to closest area of transmit, then tune the transmitter matching knob to lowest swr on other meter, then tune the antenna matching knob to check for lower swr?

is there any maintenance that ever needs to be done to this antenna tuner?

i should point out that i am tuning my galaxy saturn turbo 10m radio at 150watts and the swr meter is a SX-200 diamond and the antenna is an IMAX 2000 10/11 meter 5/8 wave omni antenna

You've got the SWR meter in the wrong place, it will always read the same no matter where you set the antenna tuner.

The SWR bridge should be between the transmitter and the antenna tuner -- NOT between the tuner and the antenna.

ok i have that correct.

do i need to clean the tuner inside? every once in a while as i am turning a knob the swr spikes randomly then goes away almost instantly back to where i left off. dirty?

how does the swr/ watt meter work on this tuner? set the swr to the end of the red then switch it to reflected power?

as for the power meter on the tuner, is it average or pep?

i know my radio does 150+ but the meter on the mfj says 60 and the sx-200 says roughly 150 avg

http://www.mfjenterprises.com/pdffiles/MFJ-941E.pdf

Here is a link to the latest model version from the MFJ website for the manual. I thought by your post you did not have the manual. Hope this helps.