Callsign
ad: dxeng

Thread: Are the 2m repeater offsets pretty standard? ...

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-rl
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-innov
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-Waters

Default Are the 2m repeater offsets pretty standard? ...

I recently installed a new Icom 2200H in the minivan. Okay, to be honest I paid the dealer to install the wiring for me. ;-)

But I was attempting to use a local repeater at 145.110 after setting up the correct PL tone. Another guy came back on and nicely informed me that I was indeed coming through okay, but on Simplex. My radio wasn't moving down to 144.510 when I transmit.

I'm very new to this so I had made some assumptions. My Yaesu FT-270 HT has all of the normal repeater offsets built-in. You can turn that feature off, but it's enabled by default. Given that I assumed the Icom mobile would be the same way.

I dug through the Icom manual and reset it to factory settings, then looked at the "Auto repeater" section of the manual and it was indeed still on. Odd.

Now when I'm on the Yaesu HT using 145.110 I see a little '-' icon on the display telling me the proper offset is in place. I see no such icon on the Icom's display. But when I move the radio to 146.880 I do see the little '-' icon on the display. Digging through the Icom's manual some more I found this:

Frequency Range and Built-In Offset Direction (Icom 2200 manual):
    145.200 - 145.495 => "-" Appears
    146.610 - 146.995 => "-" Appears
    147.000 - 147.395 => "+" Appears

I see that 145.110 is clearly outside all three of those ranges?!

Now let's take a look at the Yaesu FT-270 HT.

Frequency Range and Built-In Offset Direction (Yaesu manual):
    145.100 - 145.500 => "-" Appears
    145.600 - 145.800 => "-" Appears