ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-sarc
ad: l-rl
ad: l-innov
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-gcopper

Default Inverted L antenna - compared to G5RV, multi-band vertical

I have no experience with an inverted L. I was able to find some information by using Google to search QRZ by entering this query: inverted l antenna site:qrz.com

I have a more general thread going on here:
    http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php...na-feasibility...

In that thread, I ask a few questions about the inverted L antenna, which may have been more appropriate for a specific thread about inverted L antennas:
    1. If I use a metal mast with an inverted L, won't the metal mast interfere with the vertical section?
    2. If one has to put down a bunch of radials under the antenna, why not just use a multiband vertical antenna instead?
    3. Will a well-designed inverted L antenna outperform a well-designed multiband vertical antenna?
    4. Will a well-designed inverted L antenna outperform a well-designed G5RV antenna?
    Rigs: HW-8, HW-100, Swan 600 Twin, Kenwood TS-570d(g)
    Keys: Bencher BY-1, Heathkit HD-1410, J-38
    Dipoles: 160-30m inverted V, Buckmaster OCF
    Beams: Homebrew 6-band Spiderbeam (30-10m), K4KIO Hexbeam (20-6m)
    Verticals: ZeroFive 43-foot Vertical

[QUOTE=AE7F;2218842]I have no experience with an inverted L. I was able to find some information by using Google to search QRZ by entering this query: inverted l antenna site:qrz.com

In that thread, I ask a few questions about the inverted L antenna, which may have been more appropriate for a specific thread about inverted L antennas:q
    1. If I use a metal mast with an inverted L, won't the metal mast interfere with the vertical section?F
    *Yes it will interfere. That is why they are normally suspended from above= or with a wooden mast, or offset a short distance by rope.

2. If one has to put down a bunch of radials under the antenna, why not just use a multiband vertical antenna instead?