Callsign
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Antenna tuner for Icom IC-7000 and dipole antennas?

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-innov
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-rl
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-WarrenG

Question Antenna tuner for Icom IC-7000 and dipole antennas?

So I'm pretty new to ham radio. I got my tech in Jan. and my general in Feb. So far I've only been active on 2m and 70cm repeaters.

My 10 yr wedding anniversary is April 21st and my wife is getting me my first HF radio. I wanted a mobile HF radio (live in Louisiana and you never know when you need to evacuate) even though it will pretty much always be a base station. So I've decided on the Icom IC-7000.

Knowing the radio is coming at the end of the month I've started work on what I'm going to do about an antenna/s. This is turning into a bigger issue then I thought as my back yard is literally covered in oak trees. I thought and hoped I could maybe put up a G5RV through all the trees, but I'm having a hard time getting the height and maintaining an inverted V.

The more I research the G5RV I realized I'm going to need an antenna tuner for the Icom IC-7000. At first glance I thought the Better RF 7000 Tune Control was what I needed but the more I read I don't think this is actually an antenna tuner at all but is just what it says it is an "tune controller", I'm guess it interfaces with an actual antenna tuner?

So here I am. Would love to get some advice, suggestions and education on things. First up is a recommendation for an antenna tuner for the Icom IC-7000.

Second question would be do you need an antenna tuner if you decide to go with a single dipole antenna for a specific band? My thought being that maybe I will not be able to go with an all band dipole like the G5RV due to its physical dimensions and requirements but I'll just have to settle on a particular band like the 20m since the length is something I think I'd have an easier time making work in my yard.