ad: l-assoc
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-rl
ad: l-innov
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-tentec

Default New Ham's Second Floor Station Ground

I am new to HF installing a shack on the second floor of my house (unavoidable). I have read several recommended sites on grounding and lightening protection, but I am still a newbie, so any advice and remarks are appreciated :-) The way I plan to ground the shack is:

1. Inside the shack is a Yaesu FT-950, a Samlex Power supply and an antenna tuner (probably will be a Palstar AT2K). Each DC ground will be connected to a length of 1 in. (25mm) copper pipe by a short length of .5 in (12mm) braid.

2. The copper pipe will be connected to 3 in (75mm) thin copper foil and heavy 8 AWG copper wire to my house's existing electrical ground rod, 8 ft ( 3m ) below and 8 ft (3m) laterally from my shack. So all of the grounds will be tied together at this point.

3. Antennas will be connected via coax bulkhead feed-throughs to the tuner. All of the feed-throughs pass through a wooden board in my window which has two metal plates, one on each side. The feed-throughs ground to these plates which are also connected to the heavy copper wire DC ground and RF foil ground,

4. On the outside each SO-239 feed-through bulkhead will have a lightening arrester also wired to the copper DC ground.

5. There will be a total of four antennas; a 2m 70cm j-pole, a G5RV Jr and 2 dipoles.

After all the reading about ground loops, AC hum feedback etc. I am confused, so if anyone sees something amiss (or missing!) please let me know!

Thanks for the input and 73's,

Phil
    AE7LK

The feedlines should all go down to ground level, the shields grounded there, then go into your house.