ad: l-assoc
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-innov
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-rl
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-WarrenG

Question Icom 756 Pro III - tuner question

I'm playing around with a loaned 756 Pro III, and have a question regarding its tuner. I have no experience with Icom rigs, so please forgive me if this comes across sounding stupid.

Here's what happens - my antenna system gives me a good match with a fairly low SWR; probably in the 1.2 - 1.5:1 range. There are some losses in the transmission line due to a poor ground system. I'm using a 1:1 balun at the antenna feedpoint to compensate and to also decouple the feedline.

When I turn the Icom's tuner on, power output is reduced from 100W to about 85W as verified on a calibrated forward power meter. I test by sending an unmodulated FSK carrier.

When I turn the Icom's tuner back off, I get full power out.

Now I've experienced output loss from built-in tuners before, but not this much. I have my K3 setting next to the Icom, and when its tuner is inline, I might lose 1 to 2 watts tops depending on band. The Icom on the other hand reduces drive by 15%.

Any thoughts?
    [COLOR=#000000][IMG]http://jamespaulsarte.com/temp/ham/k2qi_latin.gif[/IMG][/COLOR]

Ater You QSY try holding the TUNER button down for about 2 seconds and see if that makes any difference. It sounds like the tuner "is out of tune" and causing the finals to fold back a little. I believe there are several modes on the menu for the tuner. I think at least one tunes with just the receiver, one tunes when you hold the mic button down for 2 seconds and I believe one requires yiou to manually push the button.

I've done that; hold the button for 2 seconds thereby initiating a manual tune. Results are the same. I'm tending to agree with you - something seems to be out of whack with the tuner.

I'm still digging through the menus and haven't found anything about adjusting the tuner. Any suggestions?