ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-rl
ad: l-innov
ad: l-AmericanRadio
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-tentec

Lightbulb Building my first vertical antenna

I have a couple of days off here next week and wanted to make a new antenna. I live in a town house and they do not allow any outside antennas. I was thinking about building a vertical that I might be able to leave up for a couple of days or until someone yells.

I was thinking about this one in particular, http://www.hamuniverse.com/kl7jr5bandvertical.html

My questions for you all:

I have never used 1/2 and 3/4 inch EMT conduit before. I have sold the hell out of it when I worked at a hardware but never used it. For portability and storage the 10 foot length is a no go. I was thinking about cutting them down to 5 foot lengths and either using the appropriate coupler or some other sort of joining device.

I'm just not sure if the EMT couplers would be strong enough to with stand a couple days of wind and weather. I wouldn't be leaving it up in bad weather unless something happened to spring up unexpectedly and I wasn't home to take it down.

Thank you in advance for any help and opinions. I know I could probably buy something and it would be easier but where is the fun in that!
    ~73
    Jeff
    KD8HYU[SIZE=1]
    [/SIZE][SIZE=1][URL="http://www.quotationspage.com/quote/495.html"][/URL][/SIZE]

If you can get aluminum pipe it is so much lighter and easier for antenna construction like this. Most hardware stores carry aluminum pipe also.

I used 16' pool pole to make vertical on vacation once, along with couple of above ground radials. Above ground radials work better.
    Leroy
    Be sure to listen for my beacon on 28.278.8 MHz

Do you have room for 16 foot radials? That's 32 feet diameter. Prolly not, in a townhouse. Also, EMT has relatively high resistance which will reduce the efficiency.