Callsign
ad: elecraft
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: loop antenna feedline

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-rl
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-innov
ad: l-Heil
ad: l-Waters

Contribute
to QRZ

  1. #1

    Default loop antenna feedline

    Ok
    I am building a 160 meter (520 foot) horizontal loop antenna and I am wondering how to feed it. I have the option of feeding it with 450 ohm window line but I already have a 1:1 balun with 50 ohm coax hung at the intended feed point from a previous antenna. If I were to feed the loop with the balun instead of the 450 ohm window line would it still work well or at least half decently as a multiband antenna compared to feeding it with window line?
    Thanks in advance!
    73s de
    kb3sjq

  2. #2

    Default

    Ahoy

    a full wave loop cut to freq fed with coax
    is for the most part a mono band antenna

    if you want to use it as a multi band antenna
    feed it with open wire

    save the coax and balun for some other project

    yours truly
    mac dit dit

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Old Monroe, Missouri
    Posts
    493

    Default

    Feed it with the 450 ohm ladder line!
    here is how i feed mine--ladder line to the shack entrance exterior wall---female banana plug termination---two lengths of 75 ohm coax--male banana plugs on each center conductor. I tie the grounds shields together on each end and tie them to ground.........male banana plug to the ladder line termination and the other end of the 75 ohm to my Palstar tuner.
    In my experience, keeps the majority of the Rf out of the shack and the AT1KP has no trouble with the loop.
    Your mileage may vary, but this works for me.
    [B]MY life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather i will skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming...
    WOW... What a Ride![/B]
    [SIGPIC]
    [/SIGPIC]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Right here
    Posts
    13,007

    Default

    The feed point impedance is probably in the neighborhood of 100 to 200 ohms so the 1:1 Balun and coax will have some loss. I would use the balanced feed line and a tuner to keep the losses to a minimum.
    I'm sorry you don't have the experience or understanding to realize that others possess a skill set that you seem to dismiss as fantastical.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    EM 84
    Posts
    1,789

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by W8ZNX View Post
    Ahoy

    a full wave loop cut to freq fed with coax
    is for the most part a mono band antenna

    if you want to use it as a multi band antenna
    feed it with open wire

    save the coax and balun for some other project

    yours truly
    mac dit dit


    Not true.

    I use one today and have had others in the past. Loop with 4:1 coaxial balun at feedpoint and coax works all bands, with resonance, up to 6 meters. First time every time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Old Monroe, Missouri
    Posts
    493

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by W2BBQ View Post
    Not true.

    I use one today and have had others in the past. Loop with 4:1 coaxial balun at feedpoint and coax works all bands, with resonance, up to 6 meters. First time every time.
    with resonance??how?? and at what length? with no tuner? i dont see how-convince me please
    [B]MY life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather i will skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming...
    WOW... What a Ride![/B]
    [SIGPIC]
    [/SIGPIC]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Rochester, MN
    Posts
    20,348

    Default

    A full-wave loop will present a reasonable match to coax at the resonant frequency and all harmonics. 1.8, 3.6, 5.4, 7.2, 9.0, 10.8, 12.6, 14.4, etc..

    As you can see, if you cut it for 1.8 Mhz., it will probably give you a good match on 80, 60, and 40, too. If you cut it a bit long for 160, say for 1.75 Mhz., it should provide a decent match for 50 ohms in or very near all of the HF ham bands.

    The typical impedance of a loop in free space is 100 ohms. But, unless your loop is going to be at least a half-wavelength off the ground, the impedance will be lower, probably closer to 50 ohms. So, you can probably get by with a 1:1 balun or a simple choke balun at the feedpoint.

    Feeding it with open feeders will allow you to operate it at any frequency above the design frequency, and possibly a little more efficiently. However, your 160 meter loop may not be a great performer on the higher bands, anyway, because the radiation pattern breaks up into a set of lobes, which become sharper as the frequency increases.

    On 160, the loop will be a quiet receive antenna, but unless it is quite high, it will be an NVIS delight. You may want to consider a vertical for transmitting on 160 and 80, and using the loop for receiving.
    EchoLink, IRLP, Allstar and DSTAR linking - adding interest to repeaters worldwide 24X7

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In Missouri Ozark Mountains
    Posts
    5,692

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K8MCN View Post
    with resonance??how?? and at what length? with no tuner? i dont see how-convince me please
    I use one with a 4-1 balun w/tuner amd it works fb on all bands. On the low bands for NA it is the best antenna I've used quiet but NVIS for transmit I use a vertical a HyTower w/160m kit top mount.
    73 de Fred N0AZZ

    _____________________________________

    The License is Only Your Starting Point in Radio!
    MVDX/CC of SW MO., DX Hogs, OARS, NARC, NCDXF
    ARRL member, ARRL and W5YI VE
    DX the thrill of the chase

    ""D-STAR making use of the 2/ 440m repeaters for real world Digital Voice usage around town and around the world""

    " Not one of us can do what all of us can do " ** Max Lucado

  9. #9

    Default

    i concur with 4:1 balun and feed with 50ohm coax; i did not have the luxury of 450 ohm feed line.
    Build your own aircore 4:1 balun. It is very straightforward. I can send you the schematic - it will cost around 3$ to put one together as long as you can get hold of 2" wide white pvc pipe - 5" in length to wrap the coil.
    Send me an email with tel. no i can give you a call to guide you through. zs735 at yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •