Callsign
ad: dxeng
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: robert rey

ad: l-AmericanRadio
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-BCInc
ad: l-ezhang
ad: l-hrd-1
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-innov
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    POMONA, CA
    Posts
    65

    Exclamation robert rey

    BEWARE OF "robert rey" or robertrey55@yahoo.com using the call "GS3BSQ".
    This call belongs to a radio club in Scotland, and they state that their call is being used by internet crooks to try and cheat hams.
    I listed my equipment for sale on QRZ.COM and got a few emails from this person.("robert rey") I ran the call and found out he was a fake when he said I will send a cashier's check for $3500 please send the balance to me and i will have my shipping company contact you.
    Don't fall for this scam.
    N6UZD BOB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    New Castle, Delaware (FM29ep)
    Posts
    1,148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by N6UZD View Post
    I will send a cashier's check for $3500 please send the balance to me and i will have my shipping company contact you.

    I just love it when the rest of the world think we are just as stupid as they are! You gotta love that line where they send you excess $$$ and instruct you to send back the remaining balance. And then, I personally love the line about "the shipper"!

    I do wonder sometimes if anyone has ever fallen for this. I'm sure they have.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    POMONA, CA
    Posts
    65

    Exclamation ROBERT REY ALIAS WILLIAM SHERRY ALIAS ETC.....

    ROBERTREY55@YAHOO.COM
    WILLIAMSHERRY35@YAHOO.COM

    AND PROBABLY MANY OTHERS.

    CALL SIGN IS BONUS

    "CASHIER'S CHECK" IS BOGUS TOO

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Swanzey NH
    Posts
    1,419

    Default

    Interesting!!! Please read!!!!

    Dear Neil Goodell AE1P,

    You have received a response to your ad, titled "for sale, Alpha 76CA", that you have running on the QTH.COM Free Ham Radio Classified Ads.

    The response is from:

    Name: Leonardo Smith
    Callsign: GS3BSQ
    E-mail: leonardosmith@live.com

    The response is:

    Please confirm availability,last asking price and present condition of this ad.

    --------------------------------------------------------
    For your reference, here is a copy of the ad you are responding to:

    Listing Number: 759888
    Date Ad was Placed: 08/05/09
    Name: Neil Goodell
    Phone Number: 603 357 0623
    Callsign: AE1P
    Category: AMPHF
    Heading: for sale, Alpha 76CA
    Ad Message:
    Alpha 76CA, 3-8874's,ser.#6226,Full legal limit out,
    Black face,
    vacuum relays,Hypersil Xfmr.new caps,
    No mods,
    except fix to the time-delay circuit.
    1600.00 firm.
    Prefer not to ship,but can,
    Will ship in 3 boxes.
    See add on 2 NOS 3CX800A7 with new chimneys,
    I was going to mod the 76CA,I have (2) new
    Filament xfmr. If someone is serious about this
    mod,I might be willing to do a package deal with
    the 76CA and new tubes & xfmr.
    Please email if any questions,
    73

    --------------------------------------------------------
    "It is even harder for the average ape to believe that he has descended from man."

    73,
    Neil
    AE1P
    _. .... ._. _ _ _ _._. _._ ...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    So. Florida, A native cracker, and proud of it!!
    Posts
    625

    Thumbs down Robert Rey, et al.

    I'm expecting a bogus cashiers check any minute now. I'm just going to sit on it and see what happens. Should be interesting!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Centerville, Indiana... Wayne County
    Posts
    520

    Default

    We all know a lot of the Internet scams come from Nigeria… I was watching 20/20 or 60 minutes and they played a popular rap song from Nigeria about scamming us here in the US. They really see no issue with doing so.

  7. #7

    Default scams

    its became pretty sad that scammers have now been able to get on here,as with face book,myspace and yahoo,it seems there is no safe haven from the crooks and cons that are doing these scams,ive had three scammers trying to con me out of a rig i had posted a while back and my buddies' had two,bogas call signs,address,s,with spoofed phone numbers, and iam sure fake names,its became so bad that,myself,iam afraid to deal with a buyer out side of this country,and thats not fair to those legit,sellers and buyers that are honest,perhaps in time they will find other avenues to wander off to and ply there trade elswhere'

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    POMONA, CA
    Posts
    65

    Smile IN GOD WE TRUST; ALL OTHERS PAY CASH!

    Quote Originally Posted by KE5KZC View Post
    its became pretty sad that scammers have now been able to get on here,as with face book,myspace and yahoo,it seems there is no safe haven from the crooks and cons that are doing these scams,ive had three scammers trying to con me out of a rig i had posted a while back and my buddies' had two,bogas call signs,address,s,with spoofed phone numbers, and iam sure fake names,its became so bad that,myself,iam afraid to deal with a buyer out side of this country,and thats not fair to those legit,sellers and buyers that are honest,perhaps in time they will find other avenues to wander off to and ply there trade elswhere'
    SELLING LOCALLY TO A BUYER THAT YOU CAN DEAL WITH FACE TO FACE MAY BE THE ONLY WAY TO AVOID BEING RIPPED OFF.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •