ad: l-assoc
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-innov
ad: l-rl
ad: l-WarrenG

Question 40 meter dipole

Im looking for plans for a 40 meter dipole the plans should include length of wire what kind of wire and what coax connecters are needed.
    Im new to this so i prolly have left something important out so please ask about anything i forgot.
    thanks 73s Evan KC2USH

hi there, lots of places too look just do a google search 40m dipole , also check out http://www.hamuniverse.com/antennas.html

it might help u 73 and good luck

Quote Originally Posted by KC2USH View Post
    Im looking for plans for a 40 meter dipole the plans should include length of wire what kind of wire and what coax connecters are needed.
    Im new to this so i prolly have left something important out so please ask about anything i forgot.
    thanks 73s Evan KC2USH
    The simplest dipole would be made from 65 1/2 feet of #14 or #12 stranded or solid wire (it doesn't matter) and three insulators. One insulator on each end and one in the center. Connect the coax directly to the antenna and put a PL-259 connector on the other end to connect to the radio. Even though it's considered good practice you don't have to use a 1:1 Balun at the antenna. There are thousands of us who made such dipoles over the years and have worked a ton of DX on them with no Balun....

There you have it, put it up as high as you can and check the SWR you may have to prune the antenna to get it where you want it and that depends a lot on how high you mount it. Higher is always better even if the SWR is better on a lower antenna. As long as the SWR is 1:5 to one or less your good to go, if it's higher that that then you need to trim the antenna a few inches at a time to bring it down. Be sure to trim the same amount off of each end so that both sides of the dipole are equal in length.

You have just completed dipole antennas 101....