ad: l-tentec
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-sarc
ad: l-innov
ad: l-rl
ad: l-Waters

Default 10 meter band openings

I am very new to working 10 meters. In fact, I just got my antenna up in the air yesterday. I've been able to listen to 10 meters using a modified CB antenna, but I just couldn't get out. Anyway, I am having quite a bit of fun with 10 meters. It's almost a game of "get in as quickly as you can". It seems the band will open up for a bit, but not knowing how long it will stay open for adds an urgency to make as many contacts as possible. I like this game!
    ECHOLINK NODE#401099

Pretty much the essense of 10 meters for a bit yet - last weekend was an opening between my part of CA and both AZ and ID.

Now would be a good time to build gain antennas for 10 meters if you have the room for them - a Lazy H or the Double Extended Zepp [which is a lazy H with 0.62 wavelength legs] for 10 is pretty compact and will give you a lot of gain for the cost of wire and insulators.

The Late Mr. Cebik had a good design for a broad band 10 meter beam in last years QST - it's on a 6' long main beam so it's quite compact.

10 is one of my favorite bands... well, probably THE fave. Easy to use mod'd CB antennas, and a hoot doing 10m mobile when conditions are good. I once worked a Russian over the pole (article wobble was real bad) on 10m SSB from my mobile (Yaesu FT100, about 80 watts and an ATAS100 antenna).

I've also had an HR2510 Uniden that was a blast, using a "HAM 10" antenna, which was basically a K40 with different lettering and a shorter whip (K40 doesn't make them anymore).

And don't forget 10 FM... and the repeaters... oh yeah, 10m is a world in it's own right!

10 meters is a lot of fun when it opens. when i first got my ticket in 87 i was working 10 with a hw-101 and an avanti sigma 5/8 ground plane cb antenna.
    the only mod to the antenna was loosening the hose clamps and sliding the tubing sections a little closer. worked great.