Callsign
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Copying a Dongle to a Jump Drive

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-innov
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-rl
ad: l-gcopper
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-Heil

Contribute
to QRZ

  1. #1

    Default Copying a Dongle to a Jump Drive

    I have a dongle for a very special piece of software that plugs into one of my USB ports and clicking on "My Computer", I could not read anything on the Dongle. I was thinking I could copy its contents to a jump drive for a backup dongle. A replacement Dongle costs $ 3,000.00 if it is lost.

    Is there a way to do this?

    Bill
    K2WH
    Last edited by K2WH; 05-13-2009 at 11:36 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    I did a little more research on the Dongle and it seems it would be impossible to copy it and very illegal. So, I'll just have to be sure I don't lose the one I have.

    Bill
    K2WH

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukie, OR
    Posts
    3,436

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K2WH View Post
    I have a dongle for a very special piece of software and clicking on "My Computer", I could not read anything on the Dongle. I was thinking I could copy its contents to a jump drive for a backup dongle. A replacement Dongle costs $ 3,000.00 if it is lost.

    Is there a way to do this?

    Bill
    K2WH
    I don't think that is possible. I believe the Dongle is a piece of hardware. I have them for a lot of my Sign / Plotter software. I requested a duplicate so I can use the software on my laptop. They required me to prove that I am the original owner of the software etc. I think it only cost me $35 for the duplicate. Without that stupid little dongle $5000 software is useless.
    Good luck. 73, Sean

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Posts
    737

    Default

    A dongle has usually been a collection of wires and sometimes diodes connected inside a RS232 serial port connector. Doubtless it would be possible to reverse engineer one, so clever companies have more sophisticated circuits. It wouldn't be difficult to include an EPROM or modern equivalent.

    Some laptop computer manufacturers used simple dongles so that their dealers could reset passwords for legitimate owners of computers. Of course the dongle connections soon appeared on the Internet to make laptop thieves happy.

    Dongles linked to expensive software are probably difficult to copy.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by K2WH View Post
    I did a little more research on the Dongle and it seems it would be impossible to copy it and very illegal. So, I'll just have to be sure I don't lose the one I have.

    Bill
    K2WH
    Hello: What kind of software is priced at $3000.00.

    I want to be sure to avoid it. kb9xn

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KB9XN View Post
    Hello: What kind of software is priced at $3000.00.

    I want to be sure to avoid it. kb9xn
    Why? My employer sells software costing as much as 100 times that much. It's good software.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukie, OR
    Posts
    3,436

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KB9XN View Post
    Hello: What kind of software is priced at $3000.00.

    I want to be sure to avoid it. kb9xn
    My CAD program cost around $5000. I can run my plotter and router with it and if I ever have the space again I can run equipment like a CNC, Water Jet, Large format digital printer etc etc. Not sure what Bill is using but the software I use is for business use. A good CAD program with a plotter has many uses. I primarily use mine for cutting vinyl for signs and vehicle graphics. I also use it for making screens for screen printing.

    So $5000 is not a lot of money for something like this. It is a tool and like most tools you get what you pay for. I bought this particular software about 10 years ago and upgrade it every other year or so. Because I purchase a lot of other things from this supplier my upgrades are always free.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ZL3GSL View Post
    A dongle has usually been a collection of wires and sometimes diodes connected inside a RS232 serial port connector. Doubtless it would be possible to reverse engineer one, so clever companies have more sophisticated circuits. It wouldn't be difficult to include an EPROM or modern equivalent.

    Some laptop computer manufacturers used simple dongles so that their dealers could reset passwords for legitimate owners of computers. Of course the dongle connections soon appeared on the Internet to make laptop thieves happy.

    Dongles linked to expensive software are probably difficult to copy.
    Not necessarily true. Many dongles atteched to RS-232 or IEEE 1284 ports and included a PROM or such that polled the port, and looked for a specific response to tell the program it was "OK" to run. Pity the poor legitimate user who upgraded to a computer that didn't have an RS-232 or Parallel Printer port...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bath, NY
    Posts
    6,930

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KB9XN View Post
    Hello: What kind of software is priced at $3000.00.

    I want to be sure to avoid it. kb9xn
    It's very easy especially for professional production software. My AutoCAD Architectural Desktop and 3DS Max (with numerous extensions) represents around $5000. The ESRI Desktop GIS Suite with extensions represents over $8000.

    These all used to require a dongle--first parallel port and now USB. Dongles work in conjunction with license managers--usually some flavor of FlexLM that runs in the background. Software developers used to hold us over a barrel by requiring yearly license fees or the software would go dead.

    It is also possible to run a software license manager without the need of a dongle. Both AutoCAD and ESRI have those options. But ultimately, you are not going to run the software without one or the other.
    Patrick

    SKCC #4473, [URL="http://klara.us"]KLARA[/URL] ARRL VE Liason

    [I]"It's just a hobby..." [/I]

    [SIZE=1][B]Rag Chew Law:[/B] [I]In any discussion that is social, political or economic in nature, it is necessary to invoke the specter
    of communism, socialism, Stalinism, Nazism, or involuntary redistribution of wealth. Extra points are given for using
    all of them in a single post, and publicly shaming anyone who disagrees with those assertions.

    [/I][B]Disclaimer:[/B][I]

    "America is filled to capacity with those living in, or near the poverty level. It is also filled with the ignorant,[/I][/SIZE][SIZE=1][I] prejudiced, angry, self-centered and obtuse. Never confuse the two." AE1PT

    "Beware the 3 P's--politicians, preachers, and prostitutes. They will all smile in your face, promise you everything, take your money--and generally leave you unsatisfied."

    I am probably going to add more to this signature line--just to irritate or amuse whomever possible. The glory of the Zed... :cool: [/I][/SIZE]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Lakeside, CA
    Posts
    631

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KB9XN View Post
    Hello: What kind of software is priced at $3000.00.

    I want to be sure to avoid it. kb9xn
    Things like GIS software (the stuff city and county governments use for mapping), CAD/CAM software, and even high end A/V production software will often include a dongle and cost several thousand dollars. Check out the prices for apps like 3D studio and Maya. They're outrageous, but there' the "consumer" apps.. the really esoteric stuff used in the really high end apps can make 3DS look like chump change.

    And then there are the large government apps and banking systems that cost several million dollars, by the time you've customized it, installed it, and trained the users. Of course, that stuff is tough to pirate, since it's often so customized that it literally can't be run anywhere else.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •