ad: l-assoc
ad: l-innov
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-rl
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-gcopper

Default Random Length Wire Antenna

I am currently studying for my general and hopefully soon (when the money shows up) getting an FT-857D. I am unsure when I will be able to take my test but for the time being I would like to just listen to the HF bands to try and learn as much as I can.

I am living in an apartment on the top floor with access to the attic (great landlord so far... HE SUGGESTED I USE IT!!). I was thinking that with just wanting RX I could use a random length of wire and be able to hear something, hopefully...

Is there any specific length I should shoot for or any other type of antenna I should try and put in the attic?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Jeff

KD6WAG Guest

Yes. Get a standard banana plug (around .49cents) from any electronics supply place. get a long legth of wire. The longer the better preferably. Connect the wire to the banana plug and just plug it into the hole on the HF SO-239 connection on the back of the radio.

If you can, elevate the wire up into the rafters or.... Since you said you're upstairs, you could hang it out the balcony/window going down. Just make sure it's not in an area where someone could pull on it, causing your 857d to "fly" out the window.

Just make absolutely sure you DO NOT transmit with that lone wire. It's fine for RX, but not TX. You'd damage your finals without a proper counterpoise and proper tuning of your antenna. Listening, you're all good. A simple wire works very well. I used to do what you're doing when I too was a tech. Lots of fun. Although 160M never came in. I didn't have a long enough wire.