Callsign
ad: elecraft

Thread: Operating an Ameritron AL-80B amp?

ad: L-HROutlet
ad: l-assoc
ad: l-WarrenG
ad: l-rl
ad: l-innov
ad: l-tentec
ad: l-Waters
ad: l-sarc
ad: l-gcopper
    KD6WAG Guest

Default Operating an Ameritron AL-80B amp?

I don't know squat about ham radio amps. It took me a while to study the art of antennas and I'm still learning every day!

Now, I'd like to move on to amplifyers. Specifically the AL-80B made by ameritron.

Is the instruction manual easily understood? I've purchased some amateur radio products before, only wishing that the instructions explained things better. (i.e. different types of tuners and analyzers etc...).

I have no idea on how to operate the amplifyer. Is it easy to figure out, or should I seek the advice of someone that can literally show me in person how to operate it? I just don't want to blow the tube or damage my equipment.

If I do decide to buy that amp, I have to be careful with it, due to its high price.

Thanks.

The Ameritron AL80B is one of the better deals in an HF amplifier available today.

And is a very simple, Easy to tune up and use amplifier. However I suggest you try to find a local "elmer" to help show you how to run a tube type amplifier. A 15 minute visit by an experienced ham who can show you how to peak up the load and tune, And general care and feeding of an amplifer would be worth a case of 807's to get that ham over!!!!

You can download the instruction manual here:

http://www.ameritron.com/Product.php?productid=AL-80B

A good time-tested amp for sure....

73, Jim/k7unz

I have an AL-80B and like many things, the product is better than the manual.

In my opinion, the manual overly explains a lot of things, which may be enough to scare off an inexperienced operator -- especially the 2-page discussion about the ALC operation. There's information there that nobody would need to know unless he was attempting to redesign the circuit.